October 2014 Monthly Recap

Hi!

Monthly RecapThis autumn is flying by! I honestly can’t believe that we will soon be talking turkey, holiday presents, and Christmas day. Before my whirlwind of a November starts, I wanted to write a quick recap of how my own October went, both on the blog and in real life! How did your month go?

three words for october: Family, Halloween, and sweaters! My family took priority this month; both my sister and my dad celebrated their birthdays, and I was able to see my brother during his college family weekend. Halloween, of course, is an important part of October. Although I don’t get as excited as I did when I was little, I do love all of the fun that leads up to it! Finally, we had a long stretch of cold weather, perfect for my beloved Boden sweaters.

Burn for Burn{Putting my thoughts into words for Burn for Burn was incredibly difficult! All you really need to know? It’s a must-read.}

what i read and reviewed: Unfortunately, not all of the books I reviewed in October are winners, but the two that are blew me away. I’ve blown through all three novels of the Burn for Burn trilogy since I read book one, and Stuart Gibbs’ Space Case met my expectations with ease.

My book review list is getting too long for my comfort, as I got to six novels in October that all need reviewing! These books were The Misadventures of Family Fletcher by Dana Alison Levy {too cute for words!}, Split Second by Kasie West {a nice companion to this novel}, Tell Me by Joan Bauer {she’s like the queen of all middle grade}, The Fourteenth Goldfish by Jennifer L. Holm {quirky fun}, The Sisterhood of Prickwillow Place by Julie Berry {adored}, and #Girlboss by Sophia Amoruso {different from what I was expecting, but not bad}.

Big, Yummy M&M Cookieswhat i baked: I made many old favorites in the kitchen this past month, but I managed to sneak in a few new recipes as well! Make good use of leftover Halloween candy and whip up a batch of M&M Cookies, or take advantage of what’s left of “pumpkin season” and try a loaf of Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Bread.

Bye Bye Birdieother things i wrote: A wide variety of features popped up on Ciao Bella in October! Influenced by Bye Bye Birdie, last month’s Musical Moodboard was a blast into the past {and a blast to create!}. I have plenty of good series to get to, as you’ll see in my only Top Ten Tuesday post of the month. I also rounded-up cozy pajamas in October’s Style Snapshot and some of my favorite fonts. Finally, in honor of Teen Read Week, I contributed a post to YALSA’s blog, The Hub. Read more HERE!

most popular posts of the month: Since the top posts rarely change, I’ve decided to alter this category a bit; I’ll only be sharing the most popular posts that were published in that same month. These three are what caught the most traffic in October!

  1. The Ten New Series I Want to Start
  2. M&M Cookies
  3. Loving >> Week 138

Hooray Desktop Design{via DesignLoveFest}

around the web: It can be hard to narrow down my favorite links when there are so many terrific ones to choose from in the first place! From a celebration of all things Taylor Swift to a collaboration between two brands I love, the internet was clearly busy in October.

  • Can we please take a moment to acknowledge the amazingness that is cookie butter? I can’t imagine not stocking up on Trader Joe’s delicious chocolate variety, but I am willing to try this homemade recipe to see how it compares.
  • Natala’s cheerful designs have certainly brightened up my mini iPad and phone!
  • Elena’s 13-day Swiftober event is definitely a must-read for any Taylor Swift fan {I’m thinking it’s best if you read through the posts while listening to 1989 :)}.
  • This story made me oh-so happy.
  • Finally, Kate Spade’s collaboration with Gap Kids was the perfect pairing! Most of the items have sold out, but one can dream, right?!

Looking Ahead to November{via my cute graphics}

looking ahead: November is looking terrific, if a bit packed! With two school productions coming up, finals to study for, and Thanksgiving at the end of the month, I’ll be ready for a Christmas movie marathon at the end.

I hope you have a lovely night!

Bella

Say Hello!

