Musical Moodboards / Bye Bye Birdie

Hello!Musical MoodboardsBye Bye Birdie holds a dear place in my heart, being the first show I stage-managed, so I couldn’t wait to feature it in a Musical Moodboard! If you missed the first post {featuring the very pink production, Legally Blonde :)}, this feature is a way to combine two of my favorite things: theater and graphic design. Taking a show I’ve seen or been involved in, I’ll create a moodboard based on different elements of the production. I think it’s fun to capture an entire musical in just a few pictures and colors, and hopefully, you do too!

Bye Bye BirdieSources: Bye Bye Birdie Movie Source Unknown/ Retro Phones / Elvis / 1950’s Teenagers / Screaming Fans {FYI: I tried my best to provide you with the most accurate and updated sources, but please let me know of any problems or mistakes!}

Despite the ensemble of screaming teenage fans, Bye Bye Birdie is still one of my most favorite shows to have teched. From the bright, retro costumes to the catchy, upbeat songs, it’s hard not to leave the theater smiling at the end! My search for images was extensive, but I ultimately went with pictures that captured the teen appeal of the show. I couldn’t help but include Elvis, who the Conrad Birdie character is based after, and a still from the movie version, with Ann-Margret starring as Kim MacAfee. Finished off with a retro-inspired telephone print {a reference to the Telephone Hour number}, I say this is a moodboard well done.

Let’s discuss! Have you ever seen Bye Bye Birdie on stage or on film? And, as always, are there any musicals you want to see in a future moodboard?

Have a wonderful Monday!
B

2 thoughts on “Musical Moodboards / Bye Bye Birdie

  1. I’ve seen Bye Bye Birdie both on film and on stage. Though the stage productions weren’t like professional or anything – they were just like school productions & local youth theatres. Still good though! I have to say out of all the musicals, Bye Bye Birdie would probably rank in the middle closer to the bottom. It’s not my favourite musical but it is fun! I love the 50’s/60’s era, think it’s so fun! Really, really awesome idea!

    Like

Say Hello!

