September 2014 Monthly Recap

Hello!

Monthly RecapWell, it’s a bit weird to think that we’re already moving on to October! I happen to love everything fall brings, so this new month is a welcome change. However, I couldn’t let my September recap be missed. Here’s a quick low-down of how my September looked in life and here on Ciao Bella. How has your autumn been?

three words for september: Writing, friends, and student council! My past month involved a lot of writing; from English assignments to blog posts, there wasn’t a day when I didn’t sit down to compose an essay or draft a few paragraphs. It was so nice to catch up with all of my friends – especially the ones I hadn’t seen all summer – with the return of school. Finally, student council and other extracurriculars have kept me busy after school, but I think September was a fabulous start to the new academic year :)

Breathe, Annie, Breathe{Breathe, Annie, Breathe has forever converted me into a Hundred Oaks fan. Next book please?}

what i read and reviewed: I have many reviews sitting in my drafts folder, but a new {and busy!} schedule only allowed time for five reviews. Nevertheless, I’m pleased that I came across so many good books, as it is easy for me to fall into a book slump when I have little time to read.

Meanwhile, my good book success continued with six other reads! I was able to get to Sisters by Raina Telgemeier {adorable, as expected}, The Secrets of Lily Graves by Sarah Strohmeyer {mixed thoughts}, Popular: Vintage Wisdom for a Modern Geek by Maya Van Wagenen {loved}, Little Fish: A Memoir from a Different Kind of Year by Ramsey Beyer {Eh}, Ashes to Ashes by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian {same reaction as books one and two: ?!?!}, and Space Case by Stuart Gibbs {he nailed it. again}.

Peanut Butter and Chocolate Granola what i baked: Fall practically lends itself to baking and spending time in the kitchen baking, so why not try two scrumptious recipes while you’re at it? I shared my granola obsession when I wrote about Peanut Butter and Chocolate Granola, and chocolate chip muffins got a second take in this post.

Alyssa Nassnerother things i wrote: The Top Ten Tuesday topics for September were too good to pass up; I discussed my fictional lunch table, ten underrated middle grade books, nine authors I want to read more of, AND my fall to be read list. Other features included my new art feature, Eye on Art, and September’s plaid-themed Style Snapshot.

most popular posts this month: I had a blast creating the images and writing up my Top Ten Tuesday lists, so I was delighted to see that they were some of the most popular posts in September. My Eight Keys review, however, took the top spot this past month!

  1. Eight Keys: A Book Review
  2. My Fictional Lunch Table
  3. My Top Ten Underrated Middle Grade Books

Say Yes Monster S'mores{via Say Yes}

around the web: There were only a handful of posts that stood out to me in September, but the four below all deserve a peek. Did you find anything on the web worth sharing?

  • Halloween is the best time of year for creative treats, as made evident by these adorable monster s’mores. I can’t wait to whip up a few myself!
  • This man just brightens my day.
  • Grace at Lit Up Review brought up great points on the value and meaning of English classes. ELA being my favorite subject {was that obvious? :)}, I think it’s an interesting topic to discuss!
  • Finally, the next time I’m in a hair rut, I know exactly what post to turn to.

Looking Ahead to October{via my cute graphics}

looking ahead: October is such a lovely time of year, so there’s plenty to be excited about! From the homecoming pep rally to Halloween, I’m looking forward to the coming weeks. Do you have any fun plans for this month?

I hope you have a terrific Wednesday!

Bella

Say Hello!

