my fall 2014 to be read list

Hi!

Top Ten TuesdayThe Broke and the Bookish‘s seasonal to be read list posts are my favorites to participate in. There’s just something to love about choosing and planning what to read next! This year, there is no shortage of amazing releases; in fact, I couldn’t choose just ten, so I instead went with fifteen :) There’s much to be said, so I will get right to my list! Do we share any books this fall?

Absolutely TrulyHeather Vogel Frederick has won my love with The Mother Daughter Book Club series, so whether or not Absolutely Truly is just as good, you can bet I will still be reading it. I love the wintery cover, and I’m always up for a good mystery. {reviews: 1 / 2}

Don't TouchI’ve been wanting to read more YA books that feature characters struggling with mental illnesses, mostly because I think it’s such a layered topic. Don’t Touch has a protagonist with severe anxiety, so while it may never be a “fun” read, it will most definitely be an interesting one.

Exquisite CaptiveAfter reading and gushing about Heather Demetrio’s debut, Something Real, the release of Exquisite Captive couldn’t seem any longer. Thankfully, it will be out in just a few short weeks, and I will {hopefully!} have another book to recommend to everyone I see :) {review / interview}

Falling into PlaceI’m all for a unique story structure, and if the provided summary is any indication, it looks like Falling into Place will fall right into that category. I’ve heard both good and bad things about it, but who knows what my opinion will be?!

Hook's RevengeHook’s Revenge, although just released earlier this month, has been on my radar for a while; I’m just hoping that I can snag a copy at my local library! It sounds right up my alley, and it’s colorful and oh-so fun cover doesn’t hurt my anticipation.

I'll Give You the SunI couldn’t not read Jandy Nelson’s I’ll Give You the Sun after hearing and reading such glowing reviews! The hype for it has been nonstop this month, but in this case, I don’t think that’s a bad thing. {Of course, I also plan to check out The Sky is Everywhere too!}

JackabyJackaby has already faced comparisons to Sherlock, who I love, and Doctor Who, who I know nothing about it, so to say my excitement is high may be a bit of an understatement. I already received a copy of the book, so it might be the first novel of this list that I tackle!

Lies We Tell OurselvesI’ve mentioned how much I like reading historical fiction, especially when it’s set in the 1950’s or ’60s, so Robin Talley’s Lies We Tell Ourselves was really love at first sight. I’ve purposely avoided reading too much about it, as I want to go into the story with little prior knowledge.

My True Love Gave to MeIf that gorgeous and stunning cover {my heart is melting over the typography and illustration :)} isn’t enough to get you to read My True Love Gave to Me, then the list of amazing authors that contributed should. The holidays put me in such a happy mood; here’s hoping that this collection does the same!

Smek for PresidentSince I’m already planning to reread The True Meaning of Smekday in anticipation of the movie adaptation coming in 2015, Smek for President!‘s release is perfect timing! Adam Rex is basically a science fiction genius. {reviews: 1 / 2 / interview}

Space CaseI’ll read anything by Stuart Gibbs, so Space Case, his newest release, is at the top of my TBR list! He has impressed me with his skill in writing hilarious middle grade mysteries, and I have no doubt that this space themed murder case will live up to his previous books. {reviews: 1 / 2 / 3 / 4}

The Doll People Set SailThe Doll People books were just a few of the novels that shaped my childhood reading, so I am super-duper excited to read the next installment this fall. It will be fun to return to the always entertaining adventures of Annabelle and Tiffany!

The Paper CowboyI feel that Kristin Levine’s next book is long overdue, but given how much I enjoyed The Lions of Little Rock and The Best Bad Luck I Ever Had, my impatience is no surprise. Here, Levine explores communism, McCarthyism, bullying, and abuse, all of which should make for an interesting {if tough} read. {reviews: 1 / 2}

The Popularity PapersThe Popularity Papers has never gotten as much attention as I think the series deserves. Amy Ignatow has delivered a terrific, hilarious, and – sometimes – all-too-realistic story about the pains of middle school, and while I am sad to see the series wrap up, I have little doubt that it will go out with a bang. {reviews: 1 / 2}

The Scandalous Sisterhood of Prickwillow PlaceFinally, I honestly added this book to my TBR list solely for its fabulous title and superb cover, but a closer look at the synopsis has led me to think I would have likely picked it up anyways! Murder, boarding school, and the Victorian Era? I’m all in.

Have a lovely Tuesday!
Bella

7 thoughts on “my fall 2014 to be read list

  1. Fabulous list of fall titles, Bella! Many of these are on my tbr too (Lies, Sisterhood, True Love, and Sun.) I’m reading Falling into Place now and it’s pretty good- it kind of reminds me of Before I Fall. And I agree that Don’t Touch looks very interesting.
    Happy fall reading :)

    Like

  2. My true love gave to me and Falling into Place are also on my TBR list that is in my head….not the one I wrote for the blog. I almost about FIP the other day but bought Say What You Will Instead. Love your list! :)

    Like

Say Hello!

