Eye on Art / 01

Hello!

Eye on ArtI have had this feature idea for a while now, so I’m super excited to actually start it today! Like my other new monthly feature, Musical Moodboards, Eye on Art grew out of something I love; this time however, instead of focusing on my passion for theater, I’m switching to the visual arts.

I could look at one of my favorite artist’s portfolios for days, gathering inspiration from just about everything, including their color choices and composition. Eye on Art will allow me to share three or four artists whose work I adore, whether it’s delightful illustrations, gorgeous hand-lettering, or something entirely different. My first three choices are ones I’ve all discovered through other blogs, but even after taking one glance at their work, I knew I would be keeping up with their art. Take a look for yourself! :)

Slide1I found Emily McDowell’s work on A Cup of Jo, and I instantly fall in love with her hilarious choices in quotes and, of course, her signature style of lettering. She owns a stationery shop, so you can send one of these fun beauties in the mail, although I’m tempted to buy a few cards just to hang up! {website}

Slide2Alyssa Nassner’s illustrations were love at first sight. I found her work through a graphic design blog, A Pair of Pears, and I then realized that I had previously seen her pictures in issues of American Girl magazine. There’s no doubt as to why she was chosen to work with them; her bright color palettes and oh-so fun subject matters {donuts, anyone?!} are sure to make anyone smile. {website}

Jessica HischeFinally, Jessica Hische is a queen at lettering, which you can easily guess at from her portfolio! I’ve seen her work on dozens of blogs, but it was just recently until I read up on her a bit more. I adore the mix of typography styles she uses, and she certainly serves as excellent inspiration for any budding typographer. {website}

What do you think, friends? I’m looking forward to sharing more of my favorite artists in the coming months, but in the meantime, I would love to hear of any you recommend checking out.

Have an amazing Thursday!

2 thoughts on “Eye on Art / 01

Say Hello!

