August 2014 Monthly Recap

Hello!

Monthly RecapHappy September, friends! I hope your summer has been fantastic, I know mine has. My school schedule is already ramping up, so I’m trying to savor my last two days of summer vacation as best I can :) Before I move on to my September posts, though, I wanted to take a quick look back at August! Did you have a great month?

three words for august: Music, Jane Austen, and goodbyes! From the Newport Jazz Festival to the ever-catchy “Bang Bang,” my August was filled with plenty of music. My sister and I had so much fun with our Jane Austen movie marathon in the middle of the month; we watched all of the classics, like Pride and Prejudice and Emma. Finally, I said goodbye to my older brother when he left for college last week! It was bittersweet to say farewell, but he’ll be visiting home before I know it.

Welcome to Dog Beach{Welcome to Dog Beach is an adorable middle grade. Lisa Greenwald nailed it once again!}

what i read and reviewed: Due to my blog break in the middle of the month, there weren’t as many book reviews as usual. However, most, if not all, of the novels I was able to discuss earned my full recommendation. Take a look!

Meanwhile, I was able to get to a good number of books in my to-read pile, bringing my total summer read count to twenty-five! My goal was to read forty books, but I’ll take what I can get. Some of the novels I read in August include Revolution by Deborah Wiles {great follow-up to Countdown}, I am Malala by Malala Yousafzai {extremely interesting}, Breathe, Annie, Breathe by Miranda Kenneally {LOVED}, the first two books in the Burn for Burn trilogy by Jenny Han and Siobhan Vivian {?!? no words}, and Lantern Sam and the Blue Streak Bandits by Michael D. Beil {oh-so fun}. Like always, reviews for these and a few others will be posted throughout the fall!

Dark Chocolate Pecan Cookieswhat i baked: Not too much baking this month because of the summer heat, but Dark Chocolate Pecan Cookies and Lemon Strawberry Scones are certainly worth turning on the oven! I, for one, can’t wait to move on to the apple and pumpkin recipes that come with the changing weather :)

Weekly Wardrobe Monday and Tuesdayother things i wrote: I joined in on The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly Top Ten Tuesday feature to highlight some of my favorite typography related books! I also built a week’s worth of outfits for this month’s Style Snapshot.

most popular posts this month: Surprisingly, many of the most popular posts in August were book reviews! These posts are from my earlier years of blogging, but they serve as great reminders of how much my writing style can change with each new review.

  1. Spy Camp: A Book Review
  2. Almost Home: A Book Review
  3. Where She Went: A Book Review

Princess Tiana{via}

around the web: There was no shortage of terrific posts and articles on the web in August – I had a difficult time choosing just five! Do you have any noteworthy reads to share?

Looking Ahead to September{via my cute graphics}

looking ahead + two goals for next month: This month, I’m looking forward to starting school {crazy, I know!}, shopping at the Boden warehouse sale, and, as I mentioned above, baking with seasonal flavors. I also want to begin setting two goals for myself each month; in September, I hope to [1] be more consistent at commenting on other’s blogs and [2] set up a regular yoga routine once again.

Have a wonderful Monday!

Bella

3 thoughts on “August 2014 Monthly Recap

Say Hello!

