July 2014 Recap

Hello!

Slide10Well, summer is just zipping right by, isn’t it?! My vacation is already halfway over, back-to-school commercials have started to air, and I had a terrific July :) Before we move on to August {which is already shaping up to be lovely}, I wanted to recap these past few weeks. How was your month?

july in three wordsBirthday, art, and books! Birthday is pretty easy to explain, as I celebrated my special day last Thursday {yay!}. I have been taking a two-week long art course, which has been loads of fun AND I’m learning a lot. Last of all, as you will see below, I did a lot of reading this month. There’s nothing I like to do more than relax with a book on my front porch in the afternoon!

Pivot Point{I can’t wait to get to Split Second, the sequel to Pivot Point! Actually, in complete truth, I’m excited to read all of Kasie West’s books.}

what i read and reviewed: I did lots of reading this month, and my reviews reflected that! I shared my thoughts on some of the books I read in June, as well as some of my more recent reads.

Summer leaves plenty of time for reading, so I have been going through books nonstop! Other novels that I read this month consisted of Pointe by Brandy Colbert {it left quite the impression}, A World Without Princes by Soman Chainani {loving this series}, Life by Committee by Corey Ann Haydu {wasn’t exactly what I was hoping for}, Life in Motion by Misty Copeland {fun change of pace}, Beauty Queens by Libba Bray {still collecting my thoughts on this one}, Welcome to Dog Beach by Lisa Greenwald {made me smile}, and Countdown by Deborah Wiles {definitely worth checking out}. Reviews for a few of these are on their way!

S'mores Cookieswhat i baked: I’ve been so busy that I didn’t do much baking this past month! However, I did make time to try a batch of S’mores Cookies; doing so was a terrific decision.

Birthday Wishlistother things i wrote: I participated in The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly Top Ten Tuesday posts, although not as much as usual. I still like to think that my top ten television shows is worth a read, though! I also rounded up some of my favorite fonts as of late and made up a birthday wish list. You can see my interview with Erin Dionne, author of Ollie and the Science of Treasure Hunting, as well!

most popular posts this month: Stats tend to drop in the warmer months, so I am glad that social media helps to circulate some of my older posts! Regular favorites were no surprise, but newer posts were fairly popular too.

  1. Small as an Elephant: A Book Review
  2. Summer Fun for Dolls!
  3. A Birthday Wishlist

Summer Postcards from Oh Happy Day{photo by Oh Happy Day}

around the web: Of course, I couldn’t let this recap go by without mentioning the great posts on other blogs! I liked a LOT this month, but some select favorites are below.

  • Design Love Fest’s Dress Your Tech feature has been near perfection this month! I can’t choose a favorite collection of desktops, so I am linking to them all :)
  • Deb at Smitten Kitchen knows how to end July with a bang! This blueberry crumb cake looks scrumptious, and I hope to make it myself.
  • Is it bad to link to your own interview? I think not. A huge thank-you to the girls at Lit Up Review for the opportunity – I had a blast!
  • YES. You Are My Fave wins again with these ice cream crawl downloads for proper judging.
  • Although I currently have no use for them, I still like these printable postcards from Oh Happy Day! The design is spot-on for summer.
  • Finally, I keep checking back over at The Daily Pencil Club for inspiration! It’s awesome to see both finished pieces and works-in-progress from talented artists.

Looking Forward to August{from My Cute Graphics}

looking ahead: August is looking pretty low-key – just what I need before I head back to school. I can’t wait for the Newport Jazz Festival on Saturday, going back-to-school shopping, and seeing American Girl’s huge relaunch with Beforever.

Have a lovely night!

Bella

Say Hello!

