Pros & Cons / I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

Hi!

Pros and ConsHarper Lee’s To Kill a Mockingbird is a classic I constantly rave about {see here for proof}, but unlike some of my other favorite classics, like Pride and Prejudice, it’s a story I rarely seen woven into modern books. Thus, I was super-duper excited to come across I Kill the Mockingbird, a middle grade by Paul Acampora. Determined to read it, I put it on my spring TBR list, and I finally got to it late last month. It’s quick, but the story still manages to pack in a lot of laughs and lessons. Let’s get right to the review, shall we?

Here’s a brief summary so you’re not going into the review blind: When Lucy, Elena, and Michael receive their summer reading list, they are excited to see To Kill A Mockingbird included. But not everyone in their class shares the same enthusiasm. So they hatch a plot to get the entire town talking about the well-known Harper Lee classic. They plan controversial ways to get people to read the book, including re-shelving copies of the book in bookstores so that people think they are missing and starting a website committed to “destroying the mockingbird.” Their efforts are successful when all of the hullabaloo starts to direct more people to the book. But soon, their exploits start to spin out of control and they unwittingly start a mini revolution in the name of books. {Goodreads}

I Kill the Mockingbird Pros and ConsLet’s talk, friends! Have you read To Kill a Mockingbird and/or I Kill the Mockingbird? Are there any new or upcoming updated classics that you can’t wait to read? I have to say, I’ve noticed that my middle grade reading has increased quite a bit this year. Thankfully, they all have been good, if not great :)

Have a wonderful afternoon!
Bella

4 thoughts on “Pros & Cons / I Kill the Mockingbird by Paul Acampora

  1. I may have said this before, but I love this reviewing style! And I love To Kill A Mockingbird. I actually saw I Kill the Mockingbird at Barnes & Noble, but I’m on a book buying ban… yeah.

    Great review!

    Like

    • Thank you! I am constantly on a “library ban” because I will go to my local branch, check out out ten books, come back, and then realize that I still have twenty books from previous visits to read. It’s a cycle! :)

      Like

  2. I want to read this one so so bad because I LOVE To Kill a Mockingbird. But you’re right! I can’t recall any other “Versions” of it, whereas so many other classics are rewritten all the time. Interesting, right? ;) I’m probably with you on being dubious that middle-grade readers would appreciate the classics references. Even I don’t know many classics, unfortunately. :| This one is really high on my wish-list.
    Thanks for stopping by @ Notebook Sisters!

    Like

Say Hello!

