Since You’ve Been Gone: A Book Review

Hi!

Since You've Been GoneTitle: Since You’ve Been Gone

Author: Morgan Matson

Published: May 6th, 2014 by Simon & Schuster

Pages: 449

Genre: Young Adult / Contemporary

Source: Amazon / Hardcover

Series: Nope!

Summary: The Pre-Sloane Emily didn’t go to parties, she barely talked to guys, she didn’t do anything crazy. Enter Sloane, social tornado and the best kind of best friend — the one who yanks you out of your shell. But right before what should have been an epic summer, Sloane just… disappears. No note. No calls. No texts. No Sloane. There’s just a random to-do list. On it, thirteen Sloane-selected-definitely-bizarre-tasks that Emily would never try… unless they could lead back to her best friend. Apple picking at night? Okay, easy enough. Dance until dawn? Sure. Why not? Kiss a stranger? Wait… what? Getting through Sloane’s list would mean a lot of firsts. But Emily has this whole unexpected summer ahead of her, and the help of Frank Porter {totally unexpected} to check things off. Who knows what she’ll find? Go skinny dipping? Um… {Goodreads}

My Thoughts: Morgan Matson fan I am. I think know that I’ve this mentioned this fact plenty of times here before, but I am one to believe that recommending her books could never get old. So, clearly, having adored Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour and Second Chance Summer, Matson’s latest novel, Since You’ve Been Gone, quickly moved to the top of my reading pile. Once I started it, I did not want to put it down. It was just SO good, friends! Trust me, and get this one in your hands as soon as possible, okay?

Emily and Sloane are the perfect example of best friends. They know each other’s quirks; they are never seen out and about unless they’re together; and they share all {or almost all} of their secrets with one another. That is, until Sloane suddenly disappears, and Emily realizes that her summer plans are falling apart with each passing day. However sad it may be, true best friendships are rarely showcased in YA, so I loved that Matson let the relationship between Emily and Sloane be the primary focus of the novel. While romance played a large role in the story {and it was ADORABLE!}, it had nothing on the strong friendship between the two girls. Even better was seeing Emily develop her own personality; her growth added another layer to their relationship, while providing insight about her as whole to the reader as well.

Frank Porter, let it be known, is so gosh-darn lovable. My most recent reads have all excelled in getting me invested in each character’s story – here, with Emily and Frank, despite any not-so-ideal circumstances, I couldn’t help but root for the two to be together. I also appreciated that it wasn’t love at first sight. It was a gradual friendship and relationship, which is much more realistic {Matson has a knack for crafting realistic characters in all of her books}. Really, in all truth, the love story was perfection :)

Bucket lists or simply a lists of tasks have been popping up quite a bit in the young adult genre lately, but I thought that Since You’ve Been Gone was a refreshing take on it. Morgan Matson didn’t change much – the list was bizarre {and which bucket lists aren’t?} – yet the way the story was organized kept me engaged and entertained as a reader. My personal favorite item on the list? Steal something, which went horribly and hilariously wrong.

Since You’ve Been Gone impressed me in every way I imagined it would. Between the developed cast of supporting characters to the laugh out loud tasks Emily completed, I can’t think why a realistic fiction fan wouldn’t enjoy this one. Obviously, it most definitely deserved a spot on my list of favorite books of the year so far!

Pros:  The characters, main and secondary, were all developed, as was the story itself. I thought that the pace and flow of the plot was strong, as I was never bored or struggling to push past a chapter!

Cons: I honestly can’t think of one thing to change!

Heads Up: Language and underage drinking, from what I can remember.

Overall:  I give it a well-deserved 5 stars {*****}, and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Have a lovely night!

B

6 thoughts on “Since You’ve Been Gone: A Book Review

  1. […] I have much, much love for any novel written by Morgan Maston. While she is a consistent favorite in the book blogger world, I am stunned by how little of my friends recognize her work. Matson’s contemporary novels, from the road trip adventure in Amy and Roger’s Epic Detour to the exploration of friendships and new beginnings in Since You’ve Been Gone, never fail to tug at my heartstrings, and I am definitely up for a re-read. {reviews: 1 / 2} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

