my top ten books of 2014 {so far!}

Hello!

Top Ten TuesdayCan I just say how quickly 2014 has gone by?! Today, even if a day earlier, I am taking part in The Broke and the Bookish‘s Top Ten Tuesday to list my favorite books of the year thus far. Unfortunately, combined with my slower reading rate {because school, friends} and the lack of real winners of novels, I don’t have quite the number of books completed that I usually do at this time of year, nor do I have a long list of favorites. However, I am hoping that my summer reading pile will help fix that! Anyhoo, here are the books that I have read and that have impressed me so far in 2014; do we share any favorites?

Something RealCould this one be any more obvious?! :) I think my love for this novel was made quite clear in my raving review, and I honestly can’t wait to read more of Demetrios’ books in the fall.

The Wig in the WindowThe Wig in the Window was one of the books that I reviewed early in the year, but don’t let that stop you from reading this amazing middle grade mystery! From the strong friendship between Sophie and Grace to the entertaining and fast-paced investigation, please check this one out.

Since You've Been GoneMorgan Matson’s books consistently rank among my top favorites and Since You’ve Been Gone {which I’ve yet to review} is no exception. I will share everything I adored about the story sometime this month, but really, what convincing do you need to read it?

Time After TimeI know that Time After Time and its prequel, Time Between Us, may not be everyone’s favorite, but I personally love the time-traveling romance between Anna and Bennett. This one was SO good; I literally did not want to put it down.

The DivinersThe Diviners is another book that I know not everyone enjoyed, but, despite some minor reservations of mine, I finished it with quite a good impression! I am now just annoyed that I have to wait until 2015 for the sequel; who in the world wanted to do that to me?! :)

PoachedThis was my most recent book review, and like with any and all Stuart Gibbs books, I fell in love. Like The Wig in the WindowPoached is a quick and engaging mystery for middle grade. There’s little not to like.

To All the Boys I've Loved BeforeAnother recent read and yet another amazing contemporary of the year, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before has forever converted me into a Jenny Han fan. It’s probably one of the only novels that I’ve read this year where I got entirely invested into the character’s story. If you haven’t done so already, I urge you to put this at the top of your TBR!

Better Off FriendsI enjoy cute and fluffy reads, and Better Off Friends, Elizabeth Eulberg’s latest novel, fits my criteria perfectly. The romance was adorable, the main characters had their distinctive quirks, and the writing flowed nicely. An easy recommendation for me to give!

The Last PresentThe Last Present seemed to fly under the radar a bit when it was released in late 2013, but I would like to give it a shout-out for what a satisfying conclusion it was to a wonderful series! Wendy Mass nailed it, and I am anxiously awaiting her next work.

The School for Good and EvilFinally, after months of my sister telling me how good The School for Good and Evil was, I got around to reading it, and I am happy to say I agree with her! The book is a terrific fantasy for the middle grade audience, and Chainani cleverly weaves in elements from many fairy tales.

Although I had some not-so-good books this year, there have also been several that I would add to my bookshelf in an instant. What novels, out of the ones you’ve read this year, would you recommend?

Have a wonderful rest of your Monday!

Bella

10 thoughts on “my top ten books of 2014 {so far!}

  1. […] Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday much more than usual last month! From my beach bag reads to the best books I’ve read so far this year, a large amount of novels were discussed on the blog in June {Other topics included my summer […]

    Like

Say Hello!

