Making the Grade / To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

Hi!

Making the GradeI’ll soon be posting my favorite books of the year so far {probably mid-June}, but I can already assure you that Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before {which will be called To All the Boys throughout the rest of the post} will most definitely be on that list. I adored it, as you’ll see below!

Making the Grade To All the Boys I've Loved BeforeSummary: To All the Boys is the story of Lara Jean, who has never openly admitted her crushes, but instead wrote each boy a letter about how she felt, sealed it, and hid it in a box under her bed. But one day Lara Jean discovers that somehow her secret box of letters has been mailed, causing all her crushes from her past to confront her about the letters: her first kiss, the boy from summer camp, even her sister’s ex-boyfriend, Josh. As she learns to deal with her past loves face to face, Lara Jean discovers that something good may come out of these letters after all. {Goodreads}

*Side note! This summary is entirely too misleading, so just trust me and read it, okay? :)

Main Character Development {A+}: Lara Jean, friends, is one of my most favorite YA contemporary characters, and that’s saying something, given how much realistic fiction I’ve read! I not only loved her endearing personality, I also enjoyed watching her evolve throughout the course of the novel. While I can easily fall in love with characters, what made Lara Jean particularly special was how quickly I immersed myself in her world. From her amazing sense of style to her memorable lines of dialogue, I didn’t want to stop reading – an achievement I consider impressive of any author.

Supporting Character Development {A}: My love for characters didn’t stop at Lara Jean; I also adored all of her family members and friends! I take note when family takes a prominent role in a YA novel, as that is one aspect usually absent. In To All the Boys, Margot and Kitty, Lara Jean’s siblings, don’t fade away from the spotlight. They actually add a lot to Lara Jean’s own development, and if I were ever to re-read this, I think their sister relationship would consistently stay one of my favorite parts of the entire book. Outside of the family, the boys of Lara Jean’s letters, whether they had a major role or not, all made me laugh, and I hope to see a few of them again in Book Two.

Engaging and Well-Paced Plot {A+}: Yes! As I mentioned above, the summary given is really not what the story is about; thankfully, Jenny Han’s writing by far makes up for the misleading information. I did not want to put this one down as I was so invested in Lara Jean’s story! And, those that have read this will understand when I say, that ENDING. Can the second book come any sooner?!

Interesting and Consistent Voice {A}: Nothing too noteworthy here in this category, other than the fact that I was hooked from the very beginning.

Vivid Writing and Language {A+}: This category deserves its A+ just with the mouth-watering descriptions of food in each chapter. I’m not kidding when I say this book will make you hungry :) This was my first Jenny Han novel, so I wasn’t sure what to expect in terms of writing, but I finished a huge fan of her work.

Memorability/Lasting Impact {A+}: Overall, To All the Boys was a pleasant surprise in my reading this year! It has, without a doubt, made my list of favorite contemporaries. I recommend it!

Final Grade: A+

Have a wonderful evening!
Bella

9 thoughts on “Making the Grade / To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

  1. […] This list wouldn’t be complete without a novel by Jenny Han! Known for her pitch-perfect romances and simple, yet superb, writing, Han has also brought diversity to YA shelves with her duology, To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before and P.S. I Still Love You. Lara Jean’s Korean background is not a central plot point, but it doesn’t need to be. Han uses subtle descriptions of tasty Korean dishes and traditional customs to add, not to develop, Lara Jean as a character. Simply put, I’m a fan. {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

