May 2014 Recap

Hi!

Slide10Friends, we are entering the final month of my school year, and to be completely honest, I couldn’t be more excited! However, before I get to my end-of-the-year finals, various parties and celebrations, and a whole lot of summer reading, I thought I should first recap my May. How was your past month?

may in three wordsMusical, reading, and summer! It should come as no surprise that I chose “musical” to sum up my May, as the first half of the month I spent at tech rehearsals and performances for my school’s production of The Wedding Singer. Between that, though, I was able to sneak in some trips to the library, taking out a grand total of 27 books. {So I’m not kidding when I say that there is lots of reading to be done :)}. Finally, Memorial Day felt like the kickoff to summer for me, as I am sure it did for many of you as well!

Better Off Friends{I really enjoyed this quick and cute read by one of my favorite authors, Elizabeth Eulberg.}

what i read and reviewed: I did not publish book reviews as frequently as usual last month, but that doesn’t reflect all of the good books I got to in May! The three book reviews I did publish are below, but no worries, there should be a few more on the way.

The books I cleared off of my bookshelf included Poached by Stuart Gibbs {LOVE all of his novels}, Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson {No words to describe my adoration}, and Savage Drift by Emmy Laybourne {the series is my guilty pleasure}.

I have slowly become more and more of a “mood reader” this school year, so I will start a few books and pick and choose which one I want to read; this would explain why I am currently in the middle of these two middle grades: The Meaning of Maggie by Megan Jean Sovern and Secrets at Chocolate Mansion by Leslie Margolis. Both are terrific so far, and I’m looking forward to seeing how they end.

Lemon Blueberry Sconeswhat i baked: I shared two tasty recipes in May. The first one was for Lemon Blueberry Scones, which are delicious. They are perfect for displaying two flavors of the season! The second recipe, Chocolate Banana Bars, was posted just last week, and it’s one any banana fan would enjoy.

Betsy-Tacy and Tib

other things i wrote: Picking and sharing my favorite friendships in middle grade and YA novels was one fun topic for The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly Top Ten Tuesday. I also enjoyed rounding up some of my favorite bags currently for sale for May’s Style Snapshot and asking Heather Demetrios {the author of the fabulous Something Reala few questions for the return of author interviews here on the blog!

most popular posts this month: Here were some of the most popular posts for the past thirty days. A few posts continually pop up {thank you search engines}, but there’s always some that are surprises to me!

  1. Spy School: A Book Review
  2. My Summer of Pink and Green: A Book Review
  3. My Favorite Fonts // Part Four

You Are My Fave Birthday Countdown{photo by You Are My Fave}

around the web: I bookmarked plenty of posts this month through Pinterest or Bloglovin! A handful of my favorites are shown below…

  • I think that the birthday “countdown” could be even more fun than the actual birthday, so I can’t wait to put You Are My Fave’s printables to use in July.
  • This giant watermelon rice krispie treat from Say Yes is so creative; I would love to make it at least once this summer.
  • When it gets too hot to even think about doing my hair, a crown twist might be helpful to know. The House That Lars Built broke it down step by step!
  • I love how effortless, yet chic, Julia looks in this post at Gal Meets Glam.

Looking Ahead to June{from My Cute Graphics}

looking ahead: In June, I can’t wait to read all of the BEA posts {because there will be SO MANY books!}, finish my school year on a strong note, and celebrate different events with family and friends!

Have a terrific Sunday!

Bella

Say Hello!

