The Lego Movie

Hi!

The Lego Movie The Lego Movie {2014}

Stars:

Chris Pratt
Elizabeth Banks
Will Ferrell
Morgan Freeman
Will Arnett

Summary: An ordinary LEGO minifigure, mistakenly thought to be the extraordinary MasterBuilder, is recruited to join a quest to stop an evil LEGO tyrant from gluing the universe together. {kindly taken from IMDb}

My Thoughts: Unlike my usual movie reviews, I decided to switch this post up a bit. I’m a huge fan of lists, so this review is going to be broken up in various points about the movie :)

[1] First off, the animation was amazing. I loved how consistent all of the detail were in the Lego design, right down to the water and fire, which looked like little Lego pieces. It never felt “clunky,” for lack of a better word, as I had feared it would have been when animating only Lego pieces.

[2] And the settings?! So darn fun. I would totally go see it again just to have another look at all of the different worlds Emmet traveled too. I don’t want to ruin the ending for anyone who hasn’t seen it, but I loved that each world came together in the very end.

[3] Emmet, the protagonist, was the best. It feels totally weird saying this about an animated character, but it was hard NOT to fall in love with him. The writers not only did a terrify job developing his character, they also did wonderfully in crafting some funny jokes and ideas for him to say {a double-decker couch, anyone?}. Bravo to them and the actor that voiced Emmet, Chris Pratt!

[4] The other supporting characters were just as good. I loved how each one added something new to the story. My personal favorites would have to be the overly positive Unikitty and the oh-so fun Benny the astronaut – they made me laugh a lot!

[5] The human pieces added a new perspective for audiences. Obviously, Legos are toys meant for people to play with, so I really liked that human items, like glue and bandages, were mixed into the story line. It was funny to hear what the Legos thought of them, as they were oversized and constantly pronounced wrong.

[6] The messages were unexpected, but also truly important. This movie will always be one for entertainment, but I liked that some important themes were revealed at the end as well. There’s nothing better than a Lego piece finally figuring out why it’s best to be your own person.

[7] Finally, the song, “Everything is Awesome” is highly addictive. No lie, friends. If you do choose to see the movie {which I hope you do!}, don’t say I didn’t warn you that you’ll be singing it all week long :)

Bottom line? Definitely check this one out. It’s worth it, no matter how old you are!

Heads Up: It’s a family friendly film, no doubt.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 6 and up.

Have a wonderful night!

Bella

One thought on “The Lego Movie

Say Hello!

