January 2014 Monthly Recap

Hi!

January 2014 Monthly Recap

{snowflake clipart via here}

I stopped doing my monthly recaps for a few months, but I am excited to bring it back! I love looking back and seeing what was accomplished in just a few weeks, and January was no exception. Here’s what went on here on the blog {and a few life tidbits added in!} this month – it’s the perfect way to catch up if you missed a post along the way!

three words for january: School, tiring, and accomplished! I don’t know about you, but January just felt like a draining month. With a lot of school related projects happening at once, there were lots of nights of endless homework. However, when I finished all of that school work and managed to get some other things done, I couldn’t help but feel accomplished. One of the best feelings, in my opinion :)

The Wig in the Window{definitely my most favorite read this month!}

what i read and reviewed: I am always a few books ahead in my reading before I post a review, so many of the book reviews I posted this month were from my December reading. Nevertheless, I discovered some really good books and authors! I also changed the format of my review, which I am super pleased with.

I also read Time After Time {which I LOVED!} and Listening to Lucca, which is by one of my favorite middle grade authors. On the nonfiction front, I discussed Go: A Kidd’s Guide to Graphic Design and Rookie, Yearbook Two in two of my love lists, and believe me, I’m still liking them. So many good books!

Oatmeal Chocolate Craisin Cookieswhat i baked: I was definitely busy in the kitchen this month, whipping up lots of tasty treats. You could try one of either cookie recipes {although I wouldn’t blame you if you made both!}: Oatmeal Chocolate Craisin Cookies, shown above, or Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies. You could also go down the breakfast route and make a batch of Chocolate, Pear, and Hazelnut Muffins!

Trust Me, I'm Lying{this looks so good! Anyone else excited to read it?!}

other things i wrote: Other note-worthy posts this month were the Style Snapshot of exercise and fitness gear {I still want those colorful sneakers!} and the 2014 debuts I put on my TBR list {I have said it before and I will say it again, there are just too.many.books.}

most popular posts this month: My reviews made quite a comeback! They are pretty old, though, so be warned if you take a peek. The crazy part? These three reviews were the most viewed in October as well!

  1. 13 Gifts: A Book Review
  2. Eight Keys: A Book Review
  3. Spy School: A Book Review

Bakerella Whale Cookies{via Bakerella}

around the web: I wasn’t the only busy one this month! Here were a few things I liked on the internet.

  • I love Patti’s desktop; is there any better reminder to get started than some fun, colorful, speech bubbles?!
  • I can’t wait to try out Emily’s casual side braid.
  • I am so obsessed with these whale sugar cookies over at Bakerella.
  • Yes, yes, yes to this interview with Tavi and Lorde.
  • Finally, is this not the coolest thing on design?

February Snowman{via my cute graphics}

looking ahead: In February, I can’t wait for my week off from school, final preparations for the one-act play competition I am in, and spring transition clothing! I have been waiting to pull out my florals and dresses, and I think now is the time :)

Have a wonderful start to your month!

3 thoughts on “January 2014 Monthly Recap

Say Hello!

