The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile: A Book Review

Hello!

The Time Traveling Fashionista Book Three

Title: The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile

Author: Bianca Turetsky

Published: December 3, 2013 by Poppy

Pages: 256

Genre: Between Middle Grade and Young Adult / Historical Fiction with some time travel thrown in!

Source: Christmas Gift / Hardcover {If you do want to read this, DON’T skimp and buy the e-book. The hardcover is gorgeous, and you can see all of the pretty color illustrations!}

Series: The Time Traveling Fashionista Series: Book Two

Summary: Walk, talk, and dress like an Egyptian. When Louise Lambert tries on a lavender Grecian gown during a visit to the mysterious Traveling Fashionista Vintage Sale, she feels a familiar tug and falls back in time, arriving at the dusty base of an enormous pyramid. She has landed in ancient Egypt… or has she?

It turns out that Louise is on the legendary Old Hollywood film set of Cleopatra, but her time there is short-lived. Rummaging through the wardrobe tent, Louise gets her hands on a pearl necklace that dates back to 51 BC, and she suddenly finds herself whisked away once more, this time to the ancient city of Alexandria, Egypt. Gold and jewels shimmer in the Egyptian sunlight, but poisonous snakes and dangerous enemies also roam the palace halls. Louise quickly learns that life as a handmaiden to Queen Cleopatra is much more treacherous–and fashionable–than she ever could have imagined. {from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: One book down of my winter TBR list, and only nine more to go! :) I was actually super excited to receive this on Christmas, and I started it soon after. I’ve always been one to recommend the Time Traveling Fashionista series {In fact, I made my little sister get the first book on a recent library trip!}, so it was like catching up with an old friend when I returned to Louise’s adventures. And, if I am going to be quite honest, I feel like the series improves with every book. Even though I finished this one up a few weeks ago, I’m already anxious to see what other vintage dresses are in store in the future!

You could call Louise a bit of an expert now that she’s been to a couple magical vintage sales. In this book, when she visits the fashionista shop, she picks up a flow-y purple dress and is instantly sent back to the legendary set of the movie, Cleopatra. Let’s start there! This whole old Hollywood movie set is interesting, no? Having never actually seen the movie, Cleopatra, reading all of the vivid details the author provides helped me to imagine exactly where Louise was. Things were clearly chaotic, as shown by all of the crew members running all over the place – this was something I loved of the book as a whole. The writing used a lot of amazing description so the reader always felt immersed in the setting and situation, instead of just the writer simply stating and telling. Points to the author for that!

After Louise spends time on the movie set {which, in my opinion, deserved a few more chapters because of how fun it was}, she then again time travels, but this time, to the palace of Cleopatra. Similar to the second book, where I had little background knowledge of the French revolution, I didn’t really know a whole lot about Cleopatra and her rule. However, after reading, I could tell I learned a lot, but it never felt too informative. The historical facts were disguised under the entertaining plot, which is something I think is key to reaching out to the audience. Cleopatra was pretty darn cool, I must say.

Overall, the latest installment in the Time Traveling Fashionista series was a winner! Coupled with the gorgeous {and I really do mean gorgeous} full-color illustrations, I’m happy to display this one on my bookshelf. Do check it out if you haven’t done so already!

Pros: I love how relatable Louise is as a main character; she also displays a fair amount of growth. The story lines were also handled well. They all connected together nicely, and I thought the development of each one was great.

Cons: Some of the dialogue felt a tad juvenile for the intended audience, but I am really stretching to find a good “con” here :)

Heads Up: Nothing huge. If anything, it is the historically accurate information regarding poison and other weapons used during Cleopatra’s rule.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****}, and I recommend it for ages 11-ish and up.

Have a terrific day!
Bella

4 thoughts on “The Time Traveling Fashionista and Cleopatra, Queen of the Nile: A Book Review

Say Hello!

