Movie-Going

Hi!

With all the free time {vacation, snow day, and the good old weekends!} I’ve had in the past few weeks, I was able to sneak in a couple of trips to the movies! I considered writing up full reviews for both, but I thought instead, I would switch it up a bit, and just throw a few points out there regarding the good and bad parts. Let’s see how this goes, shall we?! :)

Catching FireThe Hunger Games: Catching Fire {2013}

I’m pretty late to the game on this one, but I finally saw it last weekend – and I am so glad I did! I think that both movies have done a very successful job taking the stories from the books and translating it for the screen. Here’s a little closer look at what I thought…

The Good

>> Jennifer Lawrence She is such an amazing actor, and she was the perfect choice for Katniss. I thought that it would be difficult to live up to her performance in The Hunger Games, but  she did it!

>> The Set One of the best parts about Catching Fire {the book} is the description of the arena. It was so easy to get lost in the world of the games! Anyhoo, I absolutely adored the set of the movie as well. The weird creatures inside? Not so much :)

>> Returning Supporting Characters In this case, I am talking about the roles of Haymitch, Effie, and Caesar Flickerman. Spot-on for all! My favorite was the acting of Stanley Tucci. He plays the part of Caesar Flickerman, and he plays it well. I really looked forward to the talk show scenes!

The Bad

>> The Length I don’t have many negative things to say about this movie, but if anything, I would go with the length. The ending felt a bit too stretched out. I’m all for keeping movies as close to the books, but I also think that there were some places that dragged on too long.

What did you think about The Hunger Games: Catching Fire? You can read my review of the first movie HERE, my review of book one HERE, my review of book two HERE, and my review of book three HERE.

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty {2013}

This was one of the first stories I read in English class this year, so I was intrigued to see how they would take the short story and make it into a full-length movie. Again, here’s what I thought was good and bad…

The Good

>> The Set Again, the set in this movie was extraordinary! I loved the stark contrast between the dull offices and the beautiful landscapes once Walter decides to go on an adventure.

>> The Romance I actually liked how the romance was subtlety weaved through the story. It was never right in your face, but Ben Stiller and Kristin Wiig both did a terrific job with their work-place romance.

The Bad

>> The Story Unfortunately, the story fell flat for me. There were story lines that never seemed to lead anywhere, and the plot as a whole seemed a bit too pointless in the very end. I was hoping that the Walter Mitty character would show more growth, but because the story didn’t do a whole lot, there was no opportunity for character development. Just my perspective, though!

Have you been to the movies lately? I’ve always felt that January and most of February are pretty low-key movie-wise, but there are a few that I’m looking forward to seeing in the spring!

Have a wonderful night!

Bella

Say Hello!

