Just One Year: A Book Review

Hi!

Just One Year (Just One Day, #2)

Just One Year by Gayle Forman

Summary: When he opens his eyes, Willem doesn’t know where in the world he is—Prague or Dubrovnik or back in Amsterdam. All he knows is that he is once again alone, and that he needs to find a girl named Lulu. They shared one magical day in Paris, and something about that day—that girl—makes Willem wonder if they aren’t fated to be together. He travels all over the world, from Mexico to India, hoping to reconnect with her. But as months go by and Lulu remains elusive, Willem starts to question if the hand of fate is as strong as he’d thought…

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts:  Gayle Forman is near perfect when it comes to her writing. I fall in love with each of her books, and Just One Year was no exception. I can easily tell you that Just One Day, the corresponding book, was one of my favorite reads this year, so I was quite excited to catch up with Willem! I do think that the first book was more my cup of tea, but I don’t think I could ever NOT recommend a Gayle Forman novel, you know what I mean?!

The story opens up with Willem in the hospital, with little idea of what had just happened in the past 24 hours. All he knows is that he needs to find the girl named Lulu and set things right with her. Willem is obviously a huge flirt, so it was hard for me to feel sympathy for him! I felt like the situation he was in was mainly his fault, so I found his whining/complaining to be pretty annoying. It wasn’t that I didn’t like him as a person, it was more his decisions I wasn’t really digging. However, I could definitely see the depth and development put into his character, and I was happy to see Willem grow as the novel continued.

There was a lot of care put into developing the relationships between all of the characters, an aspect I really appreciated! I loved learning more about Willem’s family, because only a tiny glimpse was given in Just One Day. Seeing Willem’s interactions with his mom and hearing what he had to say about his dad all added up to his character and personality. I also liked the new friends he met in his search for Lulu; in my opinion, memorable supporting characters can really make a book.

The plot had a ton going on, yet it really flowed nicely! I was surprised at how quickly the story moved, given that it is a long book. The pacing was spot-on, and the story led up to an outstanding ending. I know not everyone enjoyed how the book finished, but I liked that it left you thinking. It’s really how you look at it.

Overall, Just One Year was another romance that I read and liked. I’m so happy with how the story played out. If you’ve read Just One Day, definitely get this one – it is totally worth it. And if you haven’t read either? Move both books to the top of your TBR list? I will take any opportunity to make new Forman fans :)

Pros: Strong, developed relationships and good pacing.

Cons: I wasn’t the biggest fan of the main character, but that didn’t truly distract me from my liking of the book. The middle of the book got a bit redundant as well.

Heads Up: Language and lots of romance.

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 14 and up.

Have a terrific night!
B

6 thoughts on “Just One Year: A Book Review

    • Just read your review – interesting thoughts! I totally see where you’re coming from. It was really hard for me to get into Willem’s head.
      Anyhoo, thanks for stopping by! :)

      Like

  1. I need to read this one! I really liked that you said that the book developed the relationships between all of the characters, I love it when books do that, it feels like it gives the story so much more depth :) Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    Like

  2. […] My Thoughts: Every once in a while, I like to take a break from my standard YA novels and read elementary or middle school geared reads instead. Such was the case with Bo at Ballard Creek. If it weren’t already for the adorable cover that made me pick it up, I definitely would have gravitated towards this one due to the synopsis. Doesn’t it just scream a cozy winter read to you?! After finishing it, I can say that it was just what it looks like – a cute book! I can’t say that it was entirely memorable, but it was just what I needed after finishing my recent heavy romance. […]

    Like

Say Hello!

