United We Spy: A Book Review

Hello!

United We Spy (Gallagher Girls, #6)

United We Spy by Ally Carter

Summary: Cammie Morgan has lost her father and her memory, but in the heart-pounding conclusion to the best-selling Gallagher Girls series, she finds her greatest mission yet. Cammie and her friends finally know why the terrorist organization called the Circle of Cavan has been hunting her. Now the spy girls and Zach must track down the Circle’s elite members to stop them before they implement a master plan that will change Cammie—and her country—forever.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: * I hate to say it, but this review is all over the place. It’s hard to write about the final book in one of my favorite series! Read at your own risk :)

Anyhoo, there are very few series that I can say I have continued to read for many years. One of them, however, is Ally Carter’s amazing Gallagher Girl series. I fell in love with the first book years ago, and I haven’t stopped adoring them since! I finished the last installment this past weekend, and well I am sad that it’s OVER, {because it’s the Gallagher Girl series, for crying out loud!} I am also so, so pleased with the ending. I definitely plan to buy this novel and then read the entire series from start to finish.

Cammie has always lived a life filled with spying, lying, and danger as a student at the Gallagher Academy. Now that the end of her senior year is creeping up, she has no clue where to take that life. Cammie is one dynamic and developed character. I have really enjoyed seeing her growth not only as a spy, but as a person, throughout the series. I thought that the author did a fantastic job taking all of Cammie’s experiences, both the good and the bad, and tying them together in this last story. In past books, we just see glimpses of Cammie’s true feelings, but in United We Spy, Cammie reveals almost everything, instead of hiding behind her actions. Can you say “yay!”? Finally, as a reader, I could put everything together, thus letting me to connect with Cammie. Writing at it’s finest, friends.

It’s hard not to like the wonderful friends Cammie has. I think Liz is just too fun for words, and I can totally relate to her bookish/clumsy self :) Bex is as action-loving as always, and Macey took the time to take care of herself. Zach, of course, is near-perfect. The moments between him and Cammie were so sweet! The most important thing about supporting characters is that they don’t distract from the protagonist’s story, and I didn’t find that a problem at all with the cast of characters in this book. If anything, they all added another layer to the story.

The plot was simply, for the lack of a better word, good. It moved quickly, and the story flowed nicely. I was engaged the entire time, and I was not even expecting the bittersweet ending. I wish that there was a little more recap on what the Circle was and/or who was involved, just to refresh my memory in the beginning, but that’s me being picky. If I have anything major to complain about, it would be that I wanted more!

Overall, United We Spy was an outstanding ending to a wonderful series. It just confirmed why I read anything by Ally Carter!

Pros: Developed main and supporting characters, well-written plot, and a strong conclusion.

Cons: From the first page, it rushed immediately into the storyline; I would have loved just a few paragraphs of recap. However, if you read the books right in a row, you’ll be fine!

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Let’s chat! How do you feel about the Gallagher Girls series as a whole? Do you get as emotionally attached to series as I do? I wanted to cry when The Mother Daughter Book Club series ended {read my review of the last book of that series here!}

Have a lovely night!
Bella

3 thoughts on “United We Spy: A Book Review

Say Hello!

