my top ten character names

Hello!

It’s been a little bit since my last Top Ten Tuesday post, and when I saw the topic for this week on The Broke and the Bookish, I knew I had to join in the fun. This time around, we were asked to choose our favorite character names. I love this topic, because character names are a lot of fun! Some of my favorites are the ones that roll off the tongue easily. Do I know why? No! But it makes it a lot more enjoyable to say :) Others I really like because I think the particular name is pretty. Finally, some I have just grown to like because of how it reflects the actual character! Anyhoo, here are my ten eight favorite character names… {It was a bit difficult to think of any more!}

Atticus-FinchI am currently re-reading To Kill a Mockingbird in English class, and not only is it reminding me of why I like Atticus so much as a character in terms of personality and development, but I have also remember how fun it is to say his name!

Jo-MarchThis is an example of why I love a name because it reflects the character. When reading Little Women, it was hard for me to think of any other name for Jo. It just suits her so well! :)

April-May-JuneHow could you not like three sisters all named after three months of the year?! To be quite serious, though, I just love how their names set up the entire story. Well worth a read if you haven’t tried it already!

Gilda-JoyceI think this is such a great name when you include her “official” title. Gilda Joyce: Psychic Investigator has such a nice ring to it!

Fancy-NancyThis one is a picture book, but I love her name all the same. It rhymes and sums up Nancy’s personality in one word. What more could you ask for?

Hazel-GraceThe Fault in Our Stars is such a gorgeous story, and I think most can agree that Hazel Grace is a gorgeous name. I have a bit of an obsession with the name Hazel, as you’ll see below :) {see my review here}

Mr-LemoncelloThere’s not much to say about Mr. Lemoncello; I thought it was a fun last name! {see my review here}

Hazel-GreenFinally, I haven’t read Hazel Green in ages, but I really like the name “Hazel,” so on the list it went! Do you have any names that you adore?

Have a wonderful Tuesday!
Bella

 

13 thoughts on “my top ten character names

  1. I have read mainly classics in my life,so the names of the characters are far from being original.
    However I will go ”Dunechka”.It’s the name of a character from Dostoevsky’s ”Crime and Punishment”.
    It was nice a post! :)
    The names are indeed beautiful and….refreshing also.

    Like

Say Hello!

