One Tough Chick: A Book Review

Hello!

One Tough Chick

One Tough Chick by Leslie Margolis

Summary: Annabelle has tamed the wild boys, mastered the social hierarchy of catty mean girls, and bugged out over her first school dance. But now it’s time for the school talent show. Annabelle’s been asked to be a judge. Which is perfect . . . until her friends accuse Annabelle of playing favorites because her boyfriend Oliver asked for special treatment. Can Annabelle remain an impartial judge without hurting anyone’s feelings?

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: I think the Maggie Brooklyn series are pretty cute and so good for elementary/middle schoolers, but I am a bit “meh” on the Annabelle Unleashed series. I loved the first one, but with each book that comes out, I care less and less about the characters. Although the writing isn’t terrible and the story isn’t that boring, it just isn’t outstanding.

Annabelle and her friends are so excited about the upcoming talent show! When Annabelle’s audition goes wrong, however, she fears that her friends will have all the fun and she’ll be left out. Her luck changes when she is given the position of student judge, but even that comes with problems. I think my main problem with this book is that there was not anything exciting going on in the plot. It’s a short book – my copy was 170 pages or so – and the plot spans over a week, I believe, yet, I feel like what happened in the story took the course in one afternoon. The pacing was off, for example, one day takes up a good few chapters, then it skips over three days. And, unfortunately, I couldn’t find anything to get excited about. A lot of what happens was predictable, and there was a lot more “telling” than “showing” which is a big no as I learned in elementary school :) There were also consistency errors that bugged me to no end, as well.

One positive thing I have to say is that most of the characters, personality-wise, were realistic. I can’t say the same for sixth graders that have already kissed someone or been kissed – that seemed a bit too young to me. On that same note, Annabelle and her friends often acted older or younger than there actually age. Why can’t they just be portrayed as they are described?! Even though I wasn’t entirely pleased with the whole romance aspect, I did appreciate the developing relationship between Annabelle and her “boyfriend,” {term used loosely} Oliver. I also liked all of the one-moment characters, like the kids that tried to bribe Annabelle into letting them win.

Overall, I think I’m done with the Annabelle Unleashed series. I will happily recommend the first one, but I can’t say the same for the others.

Pros: Solid relationship between Annabelle and Oliver.

Cons: The plot wasn’t interesting, and there were many consistency problems. The characters’ actions were a bit off according to age.

Heads Up: Nothing!

Overall: I give it 2 stars {**} and I recommend it for ages 10 and up.

Have a wonderful day!

B :)

4 thoughts on “One Tough Chick: A Book Review

    • Hi fellow Bella! :)
      Thanks for commenting! I am a bit confused as to what you mean by “likes” and “dislikes,” though. If you could clarify a bit, that might help me out!

      Like

Say Hello!

