Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

Hi!

Percy Jackson and the Sea of Monsters {2013}

Stars:

  • Logan Lerman
  • Alexandra Daddario
  • Douglas Smith
  • Leven Rambin
  • Brandon T. Jackson
  • Jake Abel

Summary: Percy Jackson, the son of Poseidon, continues his epic journey to fulfill his destiny, as he teams with his demigod friends to retrieve the Golden Fleece, which has the power to save their home and training ground, Camp Half-Blood.

{kindly taken from Rotten Tomatoes}

My Thoughts: There are, of course, some spoilers ahead! I really enjoyed the first Percy Jackson movie. I haven’t read the books {I tried once, but it didn’t really interest me. I think I will try again, though!}, so when seeing both movies for the first time, I had no idea what was going to happen next. I don’t think Sea of Monsters hit all the marks for me, like The Lighting Thief, but I enjoyed it all the same. For those who have read the books, I’m curious, how do the movies compare?

Percy saved Olympus, but he is starting to feel that he is only a one-quest wonder. This especially feels true when he gets beat time after time by fellow half-blood, Clarisse. So, when a journey is started to retrieve The Golden Fleece, a mythical object that can make anything dead or dying come alive again, Percy takes it upon himself to get it as well. Never mind the threat of a cyclops and the return of Luke, the half-blood turned bad and Percy’s enemy. As I said above, I go into these movies with no idea what is going to happen, and it is kind of fun! :) I loved the entire adventure, and the story moved nicely. The scenes never felt “choppy;” they always flowed well together. I particularly liked the scene with Hermes because it added some nice comic relief! Part of me was hoping for more substance – at times, it felt a lot more like lots of fights/high-action scenes with the storyline in the background, but it wasn’t terrible.

Most of the characters were the same as the first movie, with a few more additions. For example, Percy has a brother. Who knew?! Clarisse, played by Levin Rambin, who also starred in The Hunger Games as Glimmer, was also another solid character. I liked seeing the tension between her and Percy because it added another dimension to their development. I have to wonder, though, how many movies they are planning to make because the actors age pretty quickly, and it won’t match up with the story. {I think.} I felt as if Logan Lerman, age-wise, was too old for Percy in this movie, although maybe that is just me? With the cliffhanger at the end, I can definitely see a third movie in the future.

Finally, I though the visuals were a bit off in this movie. I just can’t put my finger on what it is! It could possibly be the amount of computer animation they had to add in due to the amount of mythological creatures. Overall, this was a solid movie, and I look forward to the third one!

Pros: Good character development and engaging plot.

Cons: The characters felt a bit older than their supposed age, and the visuals felt a bit off.

Heads Up: A bit of violence, although nothing gory.

Overall: I give it 3 stars {***} and I recommend it for ages 8 and up.

Bella :)

5 thoughts on “Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters

    • Oh, I know. It’s a disappointment for Percy Jackson fans, but it is an entertaining film nonetheless! Thank you for stopping by – I totally forgot about this review :)

      Like

Say Hello!

