How Zoe Made Her Dreams {Mostly} Come True: A Book Review

Hello!

How Zoe Made Her Dreams (Mostly) Come True

How Zoe Made Her Dreams {Mostly} Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer

Summary: When cousins Zoe and Jess land summer internships at the Fairyland Kingdom theme park, they are sure they’ve hit the jackpot. With perks like hot Abercrombie-like Prince Charmings and a chance to win the coveted $25,000 Dream & Do grant, what more could a girl want? Once Zoe arrives, however, she’s assigned to serve “The Queen”-Fairyland’s boss from hell. From spoon-feeding her evil lapdog caviar, to fetching midnight sleeping tonics, Zoe fears she might not have what it takes to survive the summer, much less win the money. Soon backstabbing interns, a runaway Cinderella, and cutthroat competition make Zoe’s job more like a nightmare than a fairy tale. What will happen when Zoe is forced to choose between serving The Queen and saving the prince of her dreams?

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: Umm, can I tell you how much I love Sarah Strohmeyer’s young adult books?! They are truly awesome, and are such a refreshing change from all of the paranormal, thriller books I see everywhere in bookstores. Sometimes you need a lighter read! :) How Zoe Made Her Dreams Mostly Come True {or HZMHDMCT, for short} was a delight from start to finish, and I honestly hope that the author has another YA novel in the works because I will be very disappointed if the answer is anything otherwise.

Zoe has landed the dream summer internship – she gets to explore Fantasyland as the queen’s personal assistant! Fantasyland is the fictional Disney, right down to all the little details. I was sucked in from the first chapter, and the description of the setting was spot-on. Being transported to an amusement park is my type of story. The plot was way over-the-top and ridiculous, but that was part of the fun! Some of the scenes were hard to believe, but I also felt as if the story was poking fun at how silly this story is. That could just be how I interpreted it, but I enjoyed it nonetheless! The pacing was good, and the plot moved quick. Even though it is  a fast read, I still felt that all of the story lines were fully fleshed out. I loved the ending; I did not see it coming at all. It kind of made me want to go back and read it again with a new perspective!

I loved the characters, and again, like the plot, they too were over-the-top. The plus of having such ridiculously fun characters, though, was that the contrast between ones fully devoted to Fantasyland and the people who weren’t was fully evident. With the many different personalities, it was fun reading about them all working together in a strange environment. Zoe really stood out to me as the main character. The author did a terrific job showcasing her relationships with everyone, from her cousin Jess to her boss, the “Queen.” I think my only complaint would be that it was hard to grasp who everyone was at first. I had trouble figuring out who was an intern, who actually worked at the park, same for who was a teenager and who was an adult. Once I figured all those details out, I was already well into the story.

Overall, HZMHDMCT was such a fun read! It hits all the criteria for a terrific summer book.

Pros: Well-written story and nicely developed MC.

Cons: It was difficult at first figuring out who all of the characters were and keeping track of them all.

Heads Up: Nothing big for a YA novel.

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Have a wonderful day!

Bella :)

4 thoughts on “How Zoe Made Her Dreams {Mostly} Come True: A Book Review

  1. […] How Zoe Made Her Dreams {Mostly} Come True by Sarah Strohmeyer | Sarah Strohmeyer’s novel, How Zoe Made Her Dreams {Mostly} Come True, is, without a doubt, the ideal example of a summer read! It is so cute and romantic and just thinking about it makes me want to read it again, preferably while on vacation :) […]

    Like

Say Hello!

