My Summer of Pink and Green: A Book Review

Hi!

My Summer of Pink & Green (Pink & Green, #2)

My Summer of Pink and Green by Lisa Greenwald

Summary: At the end of My Life in Pink & Green, Lucy Desberg had just won the grant that would save her family’s pharmacy—and turn it into a modern eco-spa. Now it’s summer, and the work has begun in earnest. Lucy figures that with the spa opening and her sister, Claudia, home, she’ll have a great summer. But her sister brings a new boyfriend, and their investor brings his extremely irritating daughter, Bevin. Plus there’s a new spa coordinator in charge of the plans, and so Lucy finds herself at loose ends. What’s a girl to do? A makeover, of course. But this time Lucy’s makeover skills might not smooth over the cracks in her happy family . . .

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: I have been a fan of Lisa Greenwald’s books for a while; ever since I read My Life in Pink and Green, I anxiously await the release of her next book! My Summer of Pink and Green, the sequel to the author’s best seller came out this past spring, and it was the perfect read for one of my last few weeks of summer vacation! Although I don’t consider the book one of my ALL-TIME favorites, I would definitely recommend it to any tween girl :)

Lucy has worked hard to get a spa set-up at her family’s pharmacy, and the opening day is almost here! Along with her annual visit with her dad, spending time with her sister, Claudia, who’s home from college, and of course, the summer basics, like swimming and barbecues, Lucy has a jam-packed two months! I think one of the most difficult parts for me was getting into the story and characters again. I’m sure that if I read the first book more recently, rather than a few years ago, it would have been much easier. Besides that, however, I found the characters just as loveable and realistic like I have come to expect from the author. Lisa Greenwald has an incredible talent for creating realistic and easy-to-relate-to characters, and the latest cast is no exception. I can’t say that I liked them all, but they were all well-developed, and in the end, that’s what matters for a good story! My favorite would definitely be Bean, Claudia’s boyfriend. He was a funny and goofy addition for the book!

The plot was solid, although I wished there was more detail put into some of smaller storylines. The chunk of the plot is devoted to the spa, which I understand completely, but at the same time, I also liked Lucy’s strange, little projects. In all truth, though, I was entertained and I was able to finish it in one afternoon. The pacing was really good, and I liked that the two months, July and August, never felt rushed, so by the time the chapter in which the spa opened up, it flowed naturally within the story. The ending felt a little forced, like everything happily worked out at the exact same time. That part just didn’t seem realistic to me.

Finally, I love that each chapter opens up with a life tidbit from Lucy! It’s always the little things that make the book. Overall, this was a good middle grade read! I think it is a great book for a lazy summer afternoon, and as I said before, the two books would make a terrific gift for a teen girl.

Pros: Nicely developed cast of characters and entertaining plot.

Cons: The ending felt a bit forced to me – everything ended up perfectly at the same time.

Heads Up: None!

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Have a happy Saturday! :)

9 thoughts on “My Summer of Pink and Green: A Book Review

Say Hello!

