The Moon and More: A Book Review

Hi!

The Moon and More

The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen

Summary: Luke is the perfect boyfriend: handsome, kind, fun. He and Emaline have been together all through high school in Colby, the beach town where they both grew up. But now, in the summer before college, Emaline wonders if perfect is good enough. Enter Theo, a super-ambitious outsider, a New Yorker assisting on a documentary film about a reclusive local artist. Theo’s sophisticated, exciting, and, best of all, he thinks Emaline is much too smart for Colby. Emaline’s mostly absentee father, too, thinks Emaline should have a bigger life, and he’s convinced that an Ivy League education is the only route to realizing her potential. Emaline is attracted to the bright future that Theo and her father promise. But she also clings to the deep roots of her loving mother, stepfather, and sisters. Can she ignore the pull of the happily familiar world of Colby? Emaline wants the moon and more, but how can she balance where she comes from with where she’s going?

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: Sarah Dessen is the queen of beach reads. Her books are always predictable, yet still well-written. The main character usually has family and friend problems, so it feels like she could be you own classmate. AND, Dessen knows how to keep a reader engaged. Clearly, it’s easy to see why she makes bestselling lists again and again, and I’m positive that The Moon and More has and will continue to succeed. Although it was nothing outstanding to me, it was still a solid read, and I was happy to get my Dessen fix of the summer! :)

The Moon and More starts by introducing you to Emaline, a soon-to-be college student, who is enjoying her last summer in Colby. One of my favorite things of this book was the characters and their development. I loved seeing how all of the characters worked and reacted with each other, and it was fun to compare the small town Colby citizens to the city tourists. The author did a terrific job not only letting Emaline stand out as the MC, but also giving the supporting characters their own distinct qualities. I could easily describe to you Emaline family, from her overly organized and highly efficient sister, Margo, to her distant and cold father. The dynamics in her family and friends were well-crafted. I found Emaline and her friends to be incredibly realistic and very easy to relate to, so that’s a big plus, in my book. However well-developed the characters were, I can’t say I liked them all. Toby got on my nerves quite often!

The plot, on the other hand, felt a bit forced, and less like the natural feel I had come to expect. I can’t exactly pinpoint what it was in the story, but I can definitely say that it had a much different feel than the synopsis lead on. I also felt that the romance between Emaline and Toby was too much. I couldn’t really see it all happening, but maybe that’s just me?! Who knows. There were some good moments in the story though. I especially liked seeing the scenes when Emaline hung out with her half-brother Benji, and when she was with her best friends, Daisy and Morris.

Overall, The Moon and More, wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t anything amazing. Like I said before, the perfect beach read!

Pros: Strong main and supporting characters.

Cons: The plot just didn’t feel natural.

Heads Up: Minor language and some romance.

Overall: I give it 3 1/2 stars {*** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 14 and up.

Have a lovely rest of your day!
Bella :)

3 thoughts on “The Moon and More: A Book Review

  1. This definitely wasn’t my favorite Sarah Dessen book, but I still liked it because it was a Sarah Dessen book! :) I thought the comparison between the Colby citizens and tourists was interesting because I never really thought about it before, and I agree, I enjoyed the scenes with Emaline and Benji! :) Awesome review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    Like

  2. […] The Moon and More by Sarah Dessen | I think any of Dessen’s novels could work this week, but my most recent read of hers was The Moon and More. While not one I would necessarily call “light,” there’s romance, a beach, and it takes place in summer – could you ask for more? […]

    Like

Say Hello!

