Monsters University

Hello!

Monsters University {2013} 

Stars:

  • Billy Crystal
  • John Goodman
  • Helen Mirren
  • Steve Buscemi

Summary: Mike Wazowski and James P. Sullivan are an inseparable pair, but that wasn’t always the case. From the moment these two mismatched monsters met they couldn’t stand each other. “Monsters University” unlocks the door to how Mike and Sulley overcame their differences and became the best of friends.

{kindly borrowed Disney’s official summary!}

My Thoughts: This, and Despicable Me 2, are the two movies I was most looking forward to seeing this summer, and as of right now, I have not been let down! :) Monsters University was everything a prequel should be – tells the story and flows with the original, but also have qualities that lets it stand out on its own. It was a cute, entertaining film for the entire family!

It can be hard to live up to such a good movie, but I think Monsters University succeeded. I loved Monsters Inc. {how could you not?!} and I liked seeing how the characters came to their place in the original movie. The characters were well-developed, but I think having the knowledge of who they were in the first place helped out a bit. I loved seeing Mike as a little monster in the very beginning, and the growth of him and Sully was really cool to see. Their friendship grew tremendously throughout the movie, and you could relate all of the events to the monsters they were becoming. As much as I liked seeing Mike and Sully, what made the movie really fun was all of the new characters. There were their fraternity brothers, the other college students, and the professors! Even though there were so many characters, all of them stood out to me in some way, whether it be how they looked or how they acted.

The plot seemed to be a bit more of a challenge, and I personally thought that the movie was rushed at the end. I felt that some lesser parts had too much screen time, and other scenes deserved a lot more. However, it truly wasn’t that bad. It was a bit predictable, but what do you expect from a family movie? The Scare Games was a good idea, and there was enough to lead off of it to carry the movie. The ending was bittersweet, of course! Finally, the opening and ending credits were terrific. The opening, with the adorable drawings following Mike through his childhood, and the ending, seeing how Mike and Sully grew as friends made the movie for me.

Overall, Monsters University was a delightful summertime release, and I am sure my family will get it again on DVD. Definitely worth a trip to the theater!

Pros: Solid characters and plot.

Cons: The ending felt a bit rushed, but I have seen worse.

Heads Up: None!

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 5 and up.

Have a wonderful kick-off to your week!

Bella :)

One thought on “Monsters University

Say Hello!

