Pi in the Sky: A Book Review

Hello!

Pi in the Sky

Pi in the Sky by Wendy Mass

Summary: Joss is the seventh son of the Supreme Overlord of the Universe, and all he gets to do is deliver pies. That’s right: pies. Of course these pies actually hold the secrets of the universe between their buttery crusts, but they’re still pies. Joss comes from a family of overachievers, and is happy to let his older brothers shine. But when Earth suddenly disappears, Joss is tasked with the not-so-simple job of bringing it back. With the help of an outspoken girl from Earth named Annika, Joss embarks on the adventure of a lifetime and learns that the universe is an even stranger place than he’d imagined.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: Ooh! I have been waiting for another Wendy Mass book for quite some time! :) She has impressed me with her books in the past, and Pi in the Sky definitely lived up to my expectations. With a well-written plot and little details that make you think, this book was a pleasant surprise of 2013!

Joss is one of the seven sons of the Supreme Overlord of the Realms. His job is to deliver pies, which is nothing compared to his other brother’s duties. I loved Joss! A male MC is always a welcome change of pace in my opinion, and Mass did a terrific job developing him as a character. His actions and dialogue really conveyed his personality. Despite that he lives in a totally different universe, I still found him to be very realistic. He wasn’t perfect by any means, but his flaws helped to develop his traits. The supporting characters were fantastic! Annika, the human girl who visits the Realms, would have to be my favorite. How different Earth was to Joss’ world was very funny to read about, and Annika’s descriptions of Earth were hilarious. Other strong supporting characters were Aunt Rae and Kal, Joss’ best friend. My only problem, character-wise anyways, was that there were so many brothers to keep track of, and I felt that they all kind-of meshed together. I would have liked them to be a bit more distinct.

The plot, while there were a few minor holes, was such a fun idea! Wendy Mass really got me thinking, and I am sure other readers must feel the same way. One feature that was really interesting was the use of quotes to open up each chapter. They were all from famous scientists, and the quotes related to the story in some way. I can definitely see how this book could push a kid to get more interested in science! On the other hand, there were a few points that never came clear. How did they know when to go places without time? How do they feel pain when they are squishy? I had a lot of lingering questions at the end, but thankfully, none that truly interfered with my liking of the story.

Overall, this was a solid read from one of my favorite authors. I can’t tell that everyone will like this one, but there is a big handful of people who will enjoy it!

Pros: Strong, developed characters.

Cons: A few plot holes.

Heads Up: Nothing!

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Have a wonderful rest of your day!

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “Pi in the Sky: A Book Review

Say Hello!

