Take Your Last Breath: A Book Review

Hello!

Ruby Redfort Take Your Last Breath

Ruby Redfort: Take Your Last Breath by Lauren Child

Summary: Everyone’s favorite girl detective is back for a second mind-blowing installment, packed with all the off-the-wall humor, action, and friendship of the first book. This time, though, it’s an adventure on the wide-open ocean, and Ruby is all at sea. . . . Can she crack the case of the Twinford pirates while evading the clutches of a vile sea monster as well as the evil Count von Viscount? Well, you wouldn’t want to bet against her.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: I fell in love with the daring and ever-so amusing Ruby Redfort in her first book, and ever since, I couldn’t wait to read the second one! Lauren Child always delivers a strong story, and this book was no exception. Ruby is still spying for Spectrum, and yet again, she needs to use her code-cracking intelligence to figure out what in the world is going on in the ocean near Twinford. Well-developed characters, a thought-out mystery, and suspense to keep you turning the pages all added up to make for a very good book :)

Ruby is thirteen years old, so she has a bit of a difficulty dealing with school, friendships, AND spying. Instead of making her too high-action and intense, Child went in the perfect direction of letting the reader be able to relate with Ruby. Despite her insanely cool job, I found Ruby to be very realistic and easy to connect to – all good points in my book. I said this before, but I didn’t find Ruby to be that annoying. She was just fun to read about! Clancy was still a strong supporting character. As her best friend, it is to be expected that he would support Ruby, but I think he developed more of his own identity in this book. One thing I would have liked to seen was to have let the argument “steam” over a bit more between Ruby and Clancy. It set up an interesting conflict, but they made up far too quickly.

The mystery was really thought-out! It was quite intricate, and there were a lot of details. Using diagrams and explanations, though, the author was able to keep the reader on the right track. It could have a big mess if it weren’t for the updates every few chapters! I really liked the use of codes and diagrams in the story. It made it more interactive for the reader, thus making it more entertaining to read. {Seriously. I wanted to know what the code was so badly, I went on the site to find the answer!} I am excited to see where Ruby is going to go in the next book, partly because this one left on a bit of a cliffhanger.

Overall, this was a terrific read! It can be difficult to find strong middle grade reads, but I will be sure to share Ruby Redfort for any tween looking for a good book. Recommended!

Pros: Strong mystery/story and well-rounded characters.

Cons: The relationships between the characters could have been strengthened.

Heads Up: Ruby, ahem, has a bit of an attitude, but I think her loyalty, intelligence, and bravery could kind of overlook that.

Overall: I give this 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Check out the official Ruby Redfort site here.

Have a wonderful Saturday!

6 thoughts on “Take Your Last Breath: A Book Review

  1. […] If you need yet another smart, wise-cracking, mystery-solving girl, the Ruby Redfort books by Lauren Child are your answer. Although I’ve had trouble finding copies of each novel in the past {I was just able to locate book three through my local library despite its 2013 release date}, the effort is entirely worth it. Ruby’s comments always make me laugh! {reviews: 1 / 2} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

