Epic

Hello!

Epic {2013}

Stars:

  • Amanda Seyfried
  • Colin Farrell
  • Beyoncé Knowles
  • Josh Hutcherson
  • Steven Tyler

Summary: Epic tells the story of an ongoing battle between the forces of good, who keep the natural world alive, and the forces of evil, who wish to destroy it. When a teenage girl finds herself magically transported into this secret universe, she teams up with an elite band of warriors and a crew of comical, larger-than-life figures, to save their world…and ours.

{kindly taken from Rotten Tomatoes}

My Thoughts: This was really cute! It was not even close to the standards of some of my favorite animated movies {Toy Story and Up, anyone?} but for a fun flick to watch with littler siblings and/or relatives, it keeps everyone entertained.

Epic follows teenager, M.K. as she helps the forest people in fighting evil forces called Boggans. Admittedly, the storyline is a little… out there. Going into it, I had no idea how the plot was going to be pulled off, but in the end, it wasn’t too bad. It dragged a bit in the middle, and it was repetitive in places. I think that the humor was incorporated nicely, and unlike other movies for this age group, it wasn’t overrun with disgusting, how-do-people-find-this-funny jokes :) One of my main problems with this was that the storyline didn’t feel like anything new. You had the standard inspirational protagonist, the funny supporting characters, and the absent parents. While I think this is the perfect movie for lazy summer afternoons, it wasn’t anything spectacular.

The characters were your basic ones. I thought M.K. was a fairly good role model, as was Nod. They both delivered the message of following your dream, and all that good stuff! Personally, I think Amanda Seyfried and Josh Hutcherson were great choices for the voices, and I would love to see them pursue more voiceover roles in the future. Beyoncé’s character, Queen Tara, was my favorite of them all, and, again, I thought she was the perfect choice for the character. My only complaint in this area was that M.K. seemed to old to me. Seventeen? I think a twelve or thirteen year old would have been a smarter move.

Finally, the animation was gorgeous. I loved all of the colors used, and the settings were beautifully portrayed! Overall, Epic wasn’t amazing, but I don’t think anyone really expected that. For what it is though, it makes great family entertainment.

Pros: Good casting and beautiful animation.

Cons: Boring plot.

Heads Up: Nothing!

Overall: I give it 3 stars {***} and I recommend it for ages 6 and up.

Have a lovely night!
Bella

Say Hello!

