my top ten favorite book covers

Hello!

Today, I’ve decided to join in The Broke and the Bookish’s weekly Top Ten Tuesday, totally ignoring the fact that today is Monday and NOT Tuesday :) The topic this week is a fun one – your favorite book covers! And as much as I hate to admit it, I do judge books by their cover. I often gravitate towards books with a simple, impactful image on the front or some outstanding typography that makes it stand out. What are some of your favorite book covers?

Eleanor and Park

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell // Isn’t the artwork on this cover amazing?! The simple design with the artistic use of color and line really made this one a winner for me. I would love to have the book casually resting somewhere on my bookshelf :) {review can be found here.}

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl

Me and Earl and the Dying Girl by Jesse Andrews // I’m about halfway through the book right now, but I think something we can all agree on is that the cover is pretty darn awesome. If that doesn’t make you want to pick up the book {along with that strange title}, I don’t know what will.

Countdown

Countdown by Deborah Wiles // The cover of Countdown fits the description of using a lone image to really sum up the novel. This book is such a cool read {check it out if you can!}, and I think the bright yellow against the dark record was a good choice to fit the story.

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight by Jennifer E. Smith // A total font geek at heart, this cover makes me so happy! :) The typography obviously is the star of the cover, but the little details, like the pops of red and how the image is blurry except for the people in the middle, all add up. {review can be found here.}

Emma {Penguin Threads edition} by Jane Austen // This is the edition I own, and it is stunning in person. The cover is “raised” in a way so that is actually feels embroidered. Not to mention that lovely color combo! I love coral, yellow, and blue together. {review can be found here.}

Cold Cereal by Adam Rex // For this one, I think the book jacket as a whole would be my favorite. Because the story revolves around the destruction a cereal company, the book is designed like a cereal box. Cool, or what?! {review can be found here.}

Ungifted

Ungifted by Gordon Korman // I like this cover simply because of the color and image used. The robot is the focus of the entire story, and it fits the image of the narrator. I also like the background color mostly because it is not widely used. {review can be found here.}

Spy School

Spy School by Stuart Gibbs // This is a really entertaining story, but I would have never thought to grab it at the library if hadn’t been for the good design of the cover. I think the minimalist look screams “spy.” {review can be found here.}

Drama by Raina Telegemeier // This cover sums up the entire story for you. It’s an adorable graphic novel that explore first love and friendship, all while working the behind-the-scenes of the school show. {review can be found here.}

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate

The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate by Jacqueline Kelly // Striking color combination? Check. Intriguing illustration? Check. All-around amazing cover? Check again!

Do any of these make your list of favorites? I think designing book covers would be such a fun job. It combines two of my favorite things – reading and graphic design!

Have a lovely rest of your day!
Bella

6 thoughts on “my top ten favorite book covers

Say Hello!

