Mind Games: A Book Review

Hello!

Mind Games (Mind Games, #1)

Mind Games by Kiersten White

Summary: Fia was born with flawless instincts. Her first impulse, her gut feeling, is always exactly right. Her sister, Annie, is blind to the world around her—except when her mind is gripped by strange visions of the future. Trapped in a school that uses girls with extraordinary powers as tools for corporate espionage, Annie and Fia are forced to choose over and over between using their abilities in twisted, unthinkable ways…or risking each other’s lives by refusing to obey.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: First off, isn’t that such an eye-catching cover?! It definitely stood out to me when I spotted it at the bookstore. Second of all, doesn’t the storyline sound cool to read about? I really liked the idea of telling the story though both of the sisters’ points of view. Finally, isn’t it rather disappointing when a book doesn’t live up to your expectations? Mind Games was sadly, not even close to being one of my favorite books. It started off strong, but it slowly got worse once the middle began.

As I said above, the premise of this story was really interesting! I couldn’t wait to see how their tools of mind reading and seeing into the future would be played into the storyline. However, there is not as much of a focus on these extraordinary talents as I thought. The main point of this story was, in my opinion, the relationship between sisters, Annie and Fia, but even that plot point was lacking in development! The author had a confusing way of explaining things, and it was never made quite clear what the talents were and how they were received. For were a few glimpses of information, {for example, men do not have these skills.} but the full story was never fully fleshed out. I still have many lingering questions!

On the character side, I do not think that Annie and Fia were not developed as strongly as they could have. I took them as very annoying, but maybe that’s just me? :) Their voices were so similar that I had trouble keeping up with who was narrating. There were also strangely placed flashbacks, which instead of enhancing the story, they just made it more confusing. The rest of the characters kind of fell into the background, and I disregarded them for most of the story.

Overall, Mind Games did not live up to my expectations. It’s the first book in a series, so I may look into the following novels just to see what happens, but other than that, I am done with this one!

Pros: Intriguing plot line.

Cons: Undeveloped story line and characters.

Heads Up: There is a lot of violence throughout the entire book.

Overall: I give it two stars {**} and I recommend it for ages 14 and up.

Have a terrific night! :)

Say Hello!

