Also Known As: A Book Review

Hi!

Also Known As by Robin Benway

Summary: Being a 16-year-old safecracker and active-duty daughter of international spies has its moments, good and bad. Pros: Seeing the world one crime-solving adventure at a time. Having parents with super cool jobs. Cons: Never staying in one place long enough to have friends or a boyfriend. But for Maggie Silver, the biggest perk of all has been avoiding high school and the accompanying cliques, bad lunches, and frustratingly simple locker combinations. Then Maggie and her parents are sent to New York for her first solo assignment, and all of that changes. She’ll need to attend a private school, avoid the temptation to hack the school’s security system, and befriend one aggravatingly cute Jesse Oliver to gain the essential information she needs to crack the case . . . all while trying not to blow her cover.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: I have always liked Robin Benway ever since I devoured The Extraordinary Secrets of April, May, and June in one weekend! I had been anxiously awaiting the release of Also Known As for EVER, so I was so very excited to read it. Similar to Ally Carter’s books, Also Known As was a breath of fresh air, and such a delight for read!

Most of the spy novels that I have read focus on the spy life – the hacking, the sneaking, and the missions, but what was different about this one is that the spy is trying to be a normal teenager. I really liked this idea. Change in surroundings is something all readers can identify with, and because the audience aren’t safe-cracking spies like Maggie, {at least, a good 99.9% of them aren’t!} it was an entertaining situation. I loved reading about Maggie’s reactions to things that I just look at as normal. Lockers, interaction with other teenagers, and curfews were all foreign things to her! Anyhoo, Maggie was fairly well-developed, but her whiny dialogue became annoying closer to the end.

The supporting characters were so fun and memorable. I think Roux, Maggie’s best friend, should totally have her own book :) I loved her bubbly, yet snarky, personality and she had some pretty entertaining lines. Jesse, my friends, made my list of “Best Fiction Boyfriends of All Time.” I loved how polite he was and how cute he was with Maggie. Finally, Benway often creates awesome parents, {in contrast to no parents whatsoever.} and Maggie’s mom and dad were no exception.

The plot was solid, but I wish the action came sooner than in the last thirty to forty pages of the book. Because the adventurous, exciting story line didn’t fully develop until the very end, the beginning was a bit hard for me to get into. Overall, though, Also Known As lived up to my high expectations, but was there really any doubt? Robin Benway always delivers.

Pros: Strong characters.

Cons: The first few chapters were hard for me to get into.

Heads Up: Teenage drinking and partying.

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Have a wonderful night!

7 thoughts on “Also Known As: A Book Review

  1. This was such a fun book! I haven’t read The Extraordinary Secrets yet but I like the other books by Benway I’ve read. It was fun reading about Maggie’s interactions. Wonderful review!

    Like

Say Hello!

