Catherine: A Book Review

Hello!

CatherineCatherine by April Lindner

Summary: Catherine is tired of struggling musicians befriending her just so they can get a gig at her Dad’s famous Manhattan club, The Underground. Then she meets mysterious Hence, an unbelievably passionate and talented musician on the brink of success. As their relationship grows, both are swept away in a fiery romance. But when their love is tested by a cruel whim of fate, will pride keep them apart? Chelsea has always believed that her mom died of a sudden illness, until she finds a letter her dad has kept from her for years — a letter from her mom, Catherine, who didn’t die: She disappeared. Driven by unanswered questions, Chelsea sets out to look for her — starting with the return address on the letter: The Underground.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: Full disclaimer: I have not read Wuthering Heights, so I don’t really know how this retelling lives up to the original story. However, from what I’ve read, it seems to be rather depressing story. Catherine was sad as well, but there were so many complex layers added to the story and I was hooked on reading it to the very end! Like Lindner’s past novel, Jane, which tackled one of my favorites, Jane Eyre, she used a classic story and added a modern twist. Kudos to her! :)

Catherine is told though two different points of view. One is Catherine herself, and then twenty years later, we see the world through her daughter, Chelsea’s, eyes. With all books told through multiple points of view, you often run into the problem of wondering who exactly is speaking. I wish that Catherine and Chelsea had more distinctive voices, because they were very similar in how they acted. With Hence making appearances in both worlds, it was easy to mix Catherine and Chelsea up. Although I had a tough time explaining the concept of the “different points of view, twenty years apart” thing to my friends, I thought it was an interesting idea! It was a unique way of looking at the story, and even though the narrators weren’t outstanding, seeing the events through two different people added so much to the book.

The plot wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, but I do like a good mystery. As the reader, I enjoyed following Chelsea as she uncovered more and more about her mother’s past. There were a few plot holes, but nothing huge that messed up the story. I found the ending to be a bit open, leaving me with many questions. What happened to Cooper and Chelsea? What did Chelsea do with Underground? It was probably intentional, but I would have liked more closure.

Overall, I liked April Lindner’s second retelling, but with some improvement in the narrators and ending, I think I would have loved it.

Pros: Intriguing concept, and the mystery was well-planned out.

Cons: The ending felt rushed, and Catherine and Chelsea had similar voices.

Heads Up: Language, romance, and violence.

Overall: I give it 3 1/2 stars {*** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 14 and up.

Have a terrific Tuesday!

Bella :)

Say Hello!

