Out of the Easy: A Book Review

Hi!

Out of The Easy

Out of the Easy by Ruta Sepetys

Summary: It’s 1950 and the French Quarter of New Orleans simmers with secrets. Known among locals as the daughter of a brothel prostitute, Josie Moraine wants more out of life than the Big Easy has to offer. She devises a plan get out, but a mysterious death in the Quarter leaves Josie tangled in an investigation that will challenge her allegiance to her mother, her conscience, and Willie Woodley, the brusque madam on Conti Street. Josie is caught between the dream of an elite college and a clandestine underworld. New Orleans lures her in her quest for truth, dangling temptation at every turn, and escalating to the ultimate test.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: Good historical fiction books are hard to find. I’ve found many to move too slowly and not interest me enough to continue reading, but over the past few years, I have read some that I now consider some of my favorites. Out of the Easy was right up there with awarding-winning historical novels, and although only recently released, it has received many rave reviews. I enjoyed this one! :)

In young adult novels, I love finding strong female protagonists, like Josie. She was smart, caring, and pretty determined. She didn’t let her no good mother {who I didn’t like at ALL.} ruin her future, and I really enjoyed seeing her relationships with close family and friends grow throughout the book. Josie wasn’t the only character that was well developed. The author, Ruta Sepetys, created an amazing bunch of secondary characters that were both well crafted and that moved the story along. I especially liked, Cokie, a close friend of Josie’s and a guy that was so very nice, and Jesse, who was different from what I expected. Willie was another complex characters, and the ending with her came completely out of the blue. Warning: The ending was sad.

What made me grab this book was the synopsis, which was written to make the book sound like a fast paced mystery. I really enjoyed the story, don’t get me wrong, I was just disappointed when the murder mystery kind of fell to a tiny sub-plot that didn’t really grow into anything. Another little thing I would have liked to have seen was more of Charlotte. The last chapter was nice, because we heard from her, but there was not much else to that storyline.

Overall, this was a surprisingly good read! I plan to look into the author’s other novel as well.

Pros: A really strong cast of characters.

Cons: The mystery plot didn’t develop into much.

Heads Up: More on the maturer side, due to the language and romance.

Overall: I gave it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 14 and up.

I’m happy to say that my blog roll is completely updated! :) It has grown quite large, so instead of being in my sidebar, I’ve relocated it to a new page called “Friends.” Make sure to pop into a few and say hi!

Have a lovely rest of your Monday!

7 thoughts on “Out of the Easy: A Book Review

  1. […] Ruta Sepety’s Between Shades of Gray comes highly recommended to me, but until I read it, I will continue to recommend her other piece of historical fiction, Out of the Easy. Taking place in 1950’s New Orleans, the atmosphere created is incredible, and though I read it a few years ago, I can still recall the novel’s dynamic characters. If Between Shades of Gray is just as good as this, I know I’m in for a good read. {review} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

