The Time Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette: A Book Review

Hello!

The Time-Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette

The Time Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette by Bianca Turetsky

Summary: What if a beautiful dress could take you back in time? Louise Lambert’s best friend’s thirteenth birthday party is fast approaching, so of course the most important question on her mind is, “What am I going to wear?!” Slipping on an exquisite robin’s egg blue gown during another visit to the mysterious Traveling Fashionista Vintage Sale, Louise finds herself back in time once again, swept up in the glory of palace life, fancy parties, and enormous hair as a member of the court of France’s most infamous queen, Marie Antoinette. But between cute commoner boys and glamorous trips to Paris, life in the palace isn’t all cake and couture. Can Louise keep her cool-and her head!-as she races against the clock to get home?

My Thoughts: This series is a combination of a few of my favorite things: cute middle grade adventures and a girl with a love for fashion! :) In the first book, the main character, Louise is invited to a vintage sale that ends up being anything but what she expected. In this following one, Louise is sent back in time to the period of Marie Antoinette! Bianca Turetsky once again delivered a fun, entertaining, and informative read.

Louise is different from most teenage girls, and it’s quite clear from her dialogue and thoughts. She adores vintage clothing and would much rather talk about the latest designer than the cutest boy. However, it’s her “misfit” status that made me fall in love with her! She was definitely developed and the author showed her growth throughout the novel. I feel like she is easy to connect with, and she has an entertaining view on things. I love that Turetsky puts her in the body of another girl back in time because it gives the reader almost two points of view. It also makes for some laugh-out-loud moments :)

Marie Antoinette was an interesting choice, but it paid off in the end. Unlike the first book, where I knew some things about the Titanic, I know much less about the French Revolution, so I learned a lot from reading this. The author wrote with such vivid details that it was easy to get caught up in the story. My only complaint would be that the gardener, Pierre, was kind of left out halfway through the story. There seemed to be a love connection going on, so I would have liked to see more closure on that end.

Overall, this was a delight to read, and with the cliffhangers left in this book, there’s sure to be a third one soon!

Pros: Developed storyline and entertaining characters.

Cons: Pierre was left out, so I was left wondering what happened to that storyline.

Heads Up: Nothing, really, although the French Revolution might be a bit graphic for younger readers. {think around age 10}

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 11-ish and up.

Have a lovely night!

B :)

6 thoughts on “The Time Traveling Fashionista at the Palace of Marie Antoinette: A Book Review

  1. I’ve had this series on my TBR list for a bit, it sounds really cute and a lot of fun! I like the vintage clothes idea and I like how you said you were able to connect to Louise and that her character grew throughout the novel. I’ll definitely have to read this series soon! :) Great review!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    Like

  2. […] I try my best to give shout-outs for this series as often as I can because it is usually overlooked! You’re really missing out if you haven’t read them yet; the books are cute and a fun way to read about history. I had no idea that a third book came out, so I plan to get on that as soon as possible! :) {read a review of the second book in the series HERE.} […]

    Like

Say Hello!

