Thou Shalt Not Road Trip: A Book Review

Hello!

Thou Shalt Not Road Trip

Thou Shalt Not Road Trip by Antony John

Summary: When sixteen-year-old Luke’s book, Hallelujah, becomes a national bestseller, his publishing house sends him on a cross-country book tour with his older brother, Matt, as chauffeur. But when irresponsible Matt offers to drive Luke’s ex–soul mate, Fran, across the country too, things get a little crazy. On the trip, Luke must loosen up, discover what it truly means to have faith, and do what it takes to get the girl he loves. Told with Antony John’s signature wit and authenticity, and featuring smart, singular characters who jump off the page and into your heart, this story is a spiritual awakening and rockin’ road trip in one.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: Five Flavors of Dumb was one of my favorite books of 2011, so Thou Shalt Not Road Trip has been on my TBR list for quite a while. Thankfully, I was able to read it as my last book of November, and the wait was well worth-while! :)

In this book, Luke is a teenager who just happened to write a best-selling novel called Hallelujah. Because of its popularity, Luke was quickly whisked onto a cross-country book tour to promote his book. Just from reading the summary, I knew that this was going to be a good book. Antony John writes so realistically that it was easy for me to get lost in the story. His writing style helped the story move quickly, and I also found it easy to connect with the characters.

I felt so bad for Luke! This poor guy had to deal with so much, and above all that, he’s a teen! I loved his personality, and his feelings and emotions were conveyed nicely. He was developed pretty well, and there was definitely some growth in his character throughout the novel. I thought the relationship between him and Fran was so, so cute! :) Fran was developed well too, and I liked how the author didn’t reveal her past until closer to the end. It kept me guessing why she dyed her hair purple or why she got so many tattoos.

Luke’s older brother was pretty cool too, but I do wish there was a little more closure between him and Luke. The amount of facts about the locations on their road trip were well-appreciated! I would have been lost without them.

Overall, this was another great read by Antony John!

Pros: Developed characters and well-written storyline.

Cons: I would have liked a tad more closure in the end.

Heads Up: Romance and language.

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “Thou Shalt Not Road Trip: A Book Review

Say Hello!

