Tiger Lily: A Book Review

Hi!

Tiger LilyTiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson

Summary: Before Peter Pan belonged to Wendy, he belonged to the girl with the crow feather in her hair. . . . Fifteen-year-old Tiger Lily doesn’t believe in love stories or happy endings. Then she meets the alluring teenage Peter Pan in the forbidden woods of Neverland and immediately falls under his spell. Peter is unlike anyone she’s ever known. Impetuous and brave, he both scares and enthralls her. As the leader of the Lost Boys, the most fearsome of Neverland’s inhabitants, Peter is an unthinkable match for Tiger Lily. Soon, she is risking everything—her family, her future—to be with him. When she is faced with marriage to a terrible man in her own tribe, she must choose between the life she’s always known and running away to an uncertain future with Peter. With enemies threatening to tear them apart, the lovers seem doomed. But it’s the arrival of Wendy Darling, an English girl who’s everything Tiger Lily is not, that leads Tiger Lily to discover that the most dangerous enemies can live inside even the most loyal and loving heart.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: I was so excited for this story. I just loved the idea for it! My image {and I’m assuming most of your’s too.} of Peter Pan is the classic young boy that Disney created. He looks like this, yes? :)

In this story, we learn of Peter Pan and Tiger Lily’s relationship. Tiger Lily has always been a small part of the Neverland story, so I was intrigued to see where Jodi Lynn Anderson was going to go with the storyline. I think one of her best and worst decisions was to have Tinker Bell narrate the story. We learn in the beginning that fairies cannot speak, but that they can read minds, thus giving Tink the ability to tell us what multiple characters are thinking. However, the whole purpose of the book was to go into Tiger Lily’s story, so while having Tink narrate was an interesting approach, the story felt so disconnected, it fell flat for me.

Besides that, I really enjoyed this book. The author truly created a world where I could see Tiger Lily living in, and the story was entertaining. The characters weren’t as developed as I would have liked, but they each had different personalities, so I was able to pass over that fact. I really liked Tik-Tok, the village’s shaman, and I liked how the author brought in the subplot about how he was conflicted with his gender. Tiger Lily didn’t have much emotion, so it was hard for me to connect with her, but I think that was Anderson’s point. I don’t really know :) The ending was extremely sad! I was not expecting it, so that was good, but that doesn’t make it any less depressing.

Overall, Jodi Lynn Anderson did a solid job telling Tiger Lily’s side of the story. Fairy tales can be so delicate because you don’t want to ruin the original spirit. It’s practically impossible to please everyone, but I happened to enjoy this version. {Question for you all, now. Is it worth reading the author’s other books?}

Pros: Well-written plot.

Cons: The characters needed some improvement, and I did not like the point of view format.

Heads Up: Nothing really, but the plot is a bit difficult to understand, so it is for YA readers.

Overall: I give it 3 1/2 stars {*** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

I changed the blog design up again! What do you think?

Have a lovely night!

2 thoughts on “Tiger Lily: A Book Review

Say Hello!

