Dear Teen Me: A Book Review and an Award!

Hello!

Dear Teen Me: Authors Write Letters to Their Teen Selves

Dear Teen Me edited by E. Kristin Anderson and Miranda Kenneally

Summary: Dear Teen Me includes advice from over 70 YA authors (including Lauren Oliver, Ellen Hopkins, and Nancy Holder, to name a few) to their teenage selves. The letters cover a wide range of topics, including physical abuse, body issues, bullying, friendship, love, and enough insecurities to fill an auditorium. So pick a page, and find out which of your favorite authors had a really bad first kiss? Who found true love at 18? Who wishes he’d had more fun in high school instead of studying so hard? Some authors write diary entries, some write letters, and a few graphic novelists turn their stories into visual art. And whether you hang out with the theater kids, the band geeks, the bad boys, the loners, the class presidents, the delinquents, the jocks, or the nerds, you’ll find friends–and a lot of familiar faces–in the course of Dear Teen Me.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: I instantly put this on hold when I hear about it. A book with advice from YA authors?! What could be better? It came last Friday, and I happily read through it over my long weekend. I’m not a fan of nonfiction, but this was very entertaining. The way the book was set up and the actual letters were interesting enough to keep me reading. I enjoyed how short the letters were, so I could stop at any period of time :)

Anyhoo, moving on from the format, I really enjoyed reading some of the author’s letters. Although a good two-thirds of the writers were ones that I was unaware of, it didn’t matter because you could learn so much about them by reading their stories. {plus I now have some new reading material to get!} Some of them were mighty sad, but there were also plenty of light-hearted, funny stories too. Depending on what style you prefer, you could easily pick and choose which letters to read.

Some of my favorite letters included ones by Ellen Hopkins, Lauren Oliver, and Robin Benway. Finally, the book was sprinkled with little “Q and A” sections. The authors were asked a general question, and they all answered them. I loved seeing how they all compared, and what people had as their first job! :) Overall, Dear Teen Me was very enjoyable, and I think all YA fans will enjoy it.

Pros: In summary, it was a really entertaining book! I also think teens who like reading magazines more than actual “books” will have some luck with this.

Cons: Nothing huge, but I do wish they got some bigger name authors to contribute, but that’s just me being picky.

Heads Up: There are some letters on sensitive topics {abuse is a big one} but you can happily skip over those.

Overall: I give this 4 1/2 stars {****1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

See the Dear Teen Me website here.

I would like to give a big thank-you to Katie who awarded me with the One Lovely Blog Award!

There are some rules, as shown below…

  1. Link back to the person who nominated you. Did! Please go check Katie out. Her reviews are so helpful and she recommends a lot of good books!
  2. Post the award picture in your post. Did!
  3. Share seven facts about yourself. Ooh! How fun! Let’s see…
  • My favorite subject is English.
  • I would much rather stay at home than go to a party.
  • I can’t sew at all.
  • December is my most favorite month of the whole year. {July is a close second.}
  • I won my school’s Yearbook Cover Contest! Yay!
  • I am really bad at returning books to the library.
  • My favorite animals are elephants, kangaroos, giraffes, and pandas.

Finally, I am going to nominate 5 blogs. They are all amazing, so go say hi!

  1. Alice in Readerland
  2. The Awesome Adventures of Lulu

Plus three more, once I figure out who they will be :)

Have a lovely day!

3 thoughts on “Dear Teen Me: A Book Review and an Award!

Say Hello!

