Tokyo Heist: A Book Review

Hello!

This is a really quick review, but quick can be good! :)

Tokyo Heist

Tokyo Heist by Diana Renn

Summary: When sixteen-year-old Violet agrees to spend the summer with her father, an up-and-coming artist in Seattle, she has no idea what she’s walking into. Her father’s newest clients, the Yamada family, are the victims of a high-profile art robbery: van Gogh sketches have been stolen from their home, and, until they can produce the corresponding painting, everyone’s lives are in danger–including Violet’s and her father’s. Violet’s search for the missing van Gogh takes her from the Seattle Art Museum, to the yakuza-infested streets of Tokyo, to a secluded inn in Kyoto. As the mystery thickens, Violet’s not sure whom she can trust. But she knows one thing: she has to solve the mystery–before it’s too late.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: I loved Ally Carter’s Heist Society, so I thought that Tokyo Heist would be a good fit for me as well. For a debut novel, Diana Renn did a pretty good job developing her characters, but it wasn’t my favorite book in the world, if you know what I mean :) The mystery was intriguing, and I was hooked from the very beginning.

I think that Violet had some strong qualities as the protagonist. She definitely grew throughout the novel and I liked her at the end better. The cast of supporting characters could have used some tweaks here and there, but, overall, they improved the story and provided plenty of entertainment! The plot dragged in the middle, but I enjoyed the many back stories that connected to it. Did the story have to be 400 pages long? No, not really, but for a fun, cute mystery, this fits the bill.

Pros: Mostly developed characters, entertaining plot.

Cons: The plot dragged in the middle, and I would have liked some of the main supporting characters to have some more development.

Heads Up: For a YA novel, this wasn’t that bad.

Overall: I give it 3 1/2 stars {***1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Have a lovely night!
Bella :)

Psst. This is a quick thank you for Katie, who awarded me with the One Lovely Blog Award! More on that later this week…

4 thoughts on “Tokyo Heist: A Book Review

  1. I was excited to read your review because I found out about this book 2 weeks ago and was just thinking about it today and whether I should buy it or not! :) I love heist/mystery stories and Ally Carter’s books so this seemed like a good fit for me. I’m glad you said that Violet did grow throughout the novel, because it can be annoying when the main character doesn’t grow at all!

    Like

Say Hello!

