Drama: A Book Review

Hi!

Drama

Drama by Raina Telgemeier

Summary: Callie loves theater. And while she would totally try out for her middle school’s production of Moon Over Mississippi, she’s a terrible singer. Instead she’s the set designer for the stage crew, and this year she’s determined to create a set worthy of Broadway on a middle-school budget. But how can she, when she doesn’t know much about carpentry, ticket sales are down, and the crew members are having trouble working together? Not to mention the onstage AND offstage drama that occurs once the actors are chosen, and when two cute brothers enter the picture, things get even crazier! Following the success of Smile, Raina Telgemeier brings us another graphic novel featuring a diverse set of characters that humorously explores friendship, crushes, and all-around drama!

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: If you haven’t read Smile yet, go find the nearest copy and read it. It’s really quick, so I’ll wait :) Alright, now that we have started on the same page, we all know that Raina Telgemeier is an AMAZING graphic novelist. {is that the right term?} Her pictures are stunning, with simple and clean lines, yet you can always find the hidden gems in the background. The stories are cute, and I found that even the most reluctant readers devour her books.

Anyhoo, this past September Raina Telgemeier decided to release Drama without notifying me. Thankfully, due to some very lovely bloggers who informed me on the release, I was able to get it at my local library. I read it in one sitting {about an hour} and it was very good. I wouldn’t say it was up to Smile standards, but it was still really good.

First off, the story was so very relatable. Callie had so much enthusiasm for her backstage crew job, and, coming fresh off my show weekend, it was so nice to see a story focused on the behind-the-scenes people. I loved that she was a theater geek, yet she didn’t try to hide her love for the stage. Uh, yay! :) Middle school is tough enough already, so I love finding characters who aren’t afraid to be themselves.

I kind of want to just give the author a big hug for depicting middle school in such a realistic way. Yes, there is plenty of drama, whether it be sibling rivalry, friendship problems, boys, or, for one character in particular, finding out who you really are. I adored the way the book was set  up, with different “acts” and an intermission. Overall, this was a delight to read, and I would most definitely recommend it.

Pros: Stunning illustrations and a relatable story.

Cons: Nothing!

Heads Up: I know some people are not comfortable handing  a story to their tween with a gay character in it, so I thought I would just let you all know!

Overall: I give this 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

some links of note… {which by the way, I do occasionally, just for fun!}

That’s all for today!

B

Psst. The blog got a happy Thanksgiving update and I tried to space out the “My Thoughts” section to make it easier to read. Don’t you like it? Me too.

9 thoughts on “Drama: A Book Review

Say Hello!

