Between the Lines: A Book Review

Hi!

It’s been a long time since my last book review! There will be a few more coming up later this week, as well :)

Between the Lines

Between the Lines by Jodi Picoult and Samantha Van Leer

Summary: Delilah is a bit of a loner who prefers spending her time in the school library with her head in a book—one book in particular. Between the Lines may be a fairy tale, but it feels real. Prince Oliver is brave, adventurous, and loving. He really speaks to Delilah. And then one day Oliver actually speaks to her. Turns out, Oliver is more than a one-dimensional storybook prince. He’s a restless teen who feels trapped by his literary existence and hates that his entire life is predetermined. He’s sure there’s more for him out there in the real world, and Delilah might just be his key to freedom. Delilah and Oliver work together to attempt to get Oliver out of his book, a challenging task that forces them to examine their perceptions of fate, the world, and their places in it. And as their attraction to each other grows along the way, a romance blossoms that is anything but a fairy tale.

{kindly taken from Goodreads}

My Thoughts: Jodi Picoult has written plenty of great books, {My Sister’s Keeper is probably her most popular} but I have never read nay until now. Between the Lines was all over the “book” world in June, and the summary sounded promising, so I put it on my TBR list, hoping to get to it before school started. And now, here we are, at the end of October, and I had just recently finished it up :) The story follows Delilah as she learns she can communicate with her literary crush in her favorite book. The plot, while I was interest, I was also worried at how it would turn out. It could get too twisted, with a ton of little details, or it could just be so confusing, it would be a bore to read. Thankfully, the book was neither. It was rather entertaining and fast-paced. {I could have finished it in a day or two if I had the time.} In part, that could be due to the way the book was set up. There were three different “sections” of the book that alternated. One was from Delilah’s point of view. Another was from Oliver’s, the main character of the fairy tale, point of view. Finally, the last one was the fairy tale itself, so you could actually read the story that Delilah read. That might not make a lot a sense, but if you read it, it is a LOT clearer! :) Anyhoo, I never really felt connected to Delilah. I felt that she wasn’t a rounded character, and she always seemed whiney and down. Oliver was better, and his development was much, much better. The ending was not what I saw coming at ALL, but it was bittersweet in a way. I would have loved an epilogue because it would have wrapped everything up, but the ending wasn’t bad. I do wish we learned a little bit more about what happened to the other book characters, especially those who tried to help Oliver get out of the book. {Frump and the Queen, to name a few.} Overall, I enjoyed this, but I don’t think it is good enough to own.

Pros: Many of the characters had good development and the plot was entertaining.

Cons: Delilah was bit of a let down.

Heads Up: Maybe some language? I don’t remember.

Overall: I give this 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Have a happy Monday!

Bella :)

Psst. Please stay safe during the storm, everyone! Thankfully, it hasn’t been too bad but it was enough to cancel school!

Say Hello!

