The Boy Project: A Book Review

Hello!

The Boy Project: Notes and Observations of Kara McAllister

The Boy Project (Notes and Observations of Kara McAllister) by Kami Kinard

Summary: Wildly creative seventh grader Kara McAllister just had her best idea yet. She’s going to take notes on all of the boys in her grade (and a few elsewhere) in order to answer a seemingly simple question: How can she get a boyfriend? But Kara’s project turns out to be a lot more complicated than she imagined. Soon there are secrets, lies, and an embarrassing incident in the boy’s bathroom. Plus, Kara has to deal with mean girls, her slightly spacey BFF, and some surprising uses for duct tape. Still, if Kara’s research leads her to the right boy, everything may just be worth it. . .

My Thoughts: I was originally going to return this because I had a LOT of books to read, but I kept it because Kara’s witty notes got me hooked. Although the extras {the notes, her research etc.} were fun, the actual story lacked the substance I wanted. It was just… fluffy. There were a few good moments, but I had one main issue with the book, which was that Kara was awfully boy-obsessed for a twelve-year old. It’s perfectly okay to have a crush, and many people make a living studying relationships, but Kara was REALLY boy-obsessed, especially for her age. I will admit that she grew as a person and matured, and I liked her more towards the end, but she was no the best main character I have ever seen. Another problem was that the plot fell flat for me. There were some very funny moments {like the boy bathroom incident? that was funny :)} but it was kind of all over the place. It was difficult to keep track of every boy she observed, and when Kara brought them up later in the book, I was thinking of one boy when it was someone totally different! Finally, many of the characters could have used some more information or development. I knew little about Tabbi, Kara’s best friend, and I would have liked to known more about Chip. Speaking of which, I loved Chip! :) One of the only good parts of the book. Overall, The Boy Project didn’t deliver for me, but I can see fans of Dork Diaries and The Popularity Papers gravitating towards it.

Pros: Some funny moments in the plot.

Cons: Flat characters and an all-over-the-place plot.

Heads Up: Boy obsessed characters ;)

Overall: I give it 2 stars {**} and I recommend it for ages 12 and up.

Have a good night, friends!

Bella :)

Say Hello!

