The Second Spy: A Book Review

Hello!

The Second Spy: The Books of Elsewhere: Volume 3

The Books of Elsewhere: The Second Spy by Jacqueline West

Summary: In Olive’s third adventure, what lurks below the house could be as dangerous as what’s hidden inside . . . Some terrifying things have happened to Olive in the old stone house, but none as scary as starting junior high. Or so she thinks. When she plummets through a hole in her backyard, though, she realizes two things that may change her mind: First, the wicked Annabelle McMartin is back. Second, there’s a secret underground that unlocks not one but two of Elsewhere’s biggest, most powerful, most dangerous forces yet. But with the house’s guardian cats acting suspicious, her best friend threatening to move away, and her ally Morton starting to rebel, Olive isn’t sure where to turn. Will she figure it out in time? Or will she be lured into Elsewhere, and trapped there for good?

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: While I’m not rushing out to buy them, I still enjoy Jacqueline West’s The Books of Elsewhere series. The concept is unique for what is out right now for the middle grade audience, and I love the author’s writing skills! This time around, Olive is still fighting Annabelle, but the focus is more on Annabelle’s grandfather, Aldous. He was the painter of the Elsewhere pictures, and he is still seeking revenge. I will have to say that I didn’t find Olive that likeable. I couldn’t get by her complaining and stubbornness. On the development side, the author did a fabulous job; I just don’t think Olive and I mixed :) I adore Rutherford, Olive’s good friend. Seriously LOVE him. He is geeky, but in a fun/cute way. I loved the ending when he saved Olive and when he revealed his secret. {ooh! suspense!} The cats were not my favorites, as in the past two books, but if I had to choose a favorite, it would obviously be Harvey, or Agent 1-800, as he would say :) Aldous was creepy, but West did a terrific job creating such a villainous character. The plot moved *quite* slowly, even more than Books One and Two. I don’t know why, especially because this SHOULD be a suspenseful and fast-paced book. Instead, however, I was tired of reading it after 20 to 40 minutes, and I had to put it down. Who knows why? Besides the whole plot thing, this was a solid read, and one that I would still recommend.

Pros: Developed and unique characters, as well as an interesting plot concept.

Cons: Sloooooow moving plot.

Overall: I give it 3 stars {***} and I recommend it for ages 10 and up.

You can view the author’s website here.

Have a lovely night, friends!

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “The Second Spy: A Book Review

Say Hello!

