Liar and Spy: A Book Review

Hello!

Liar & Spy

Liar and Spy by Rebecca Stead

Summary: The instant New York Times bestseller from the author of the Newbery Medal book When You Reach Me: a story about spies, games, and friendship. Seventh grader Georges moves into a Brooklyn apartment building and meets Safer, a twelve-year-old self-appointed spy. Georges becomes Safer’s first spy recruit. His assignment? Tracking the mysterious Mr. X, who lives in the apartment upstairs. But as Safer becomes more demanding, Georges starts to wonder: what is a lie, and what is a game? How far is too far to go for your only friend? Like the dazzling When You Reach Me, Liar & Spy will keep readers guessing until the end.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: Rebecca Stead amazed me with her award-winning novel, When You Reach Me but I don’t think her latest book was quite as good. Here, we meet Georges {the s is silent} who has just moved into a new home. In the apartment building, he meets a very different type of family. One that doesn’t believe in school, doesn’t name their kids until they are toddlers, and one that has their own spy club. But anything’s better than the bullies at school, so Georges becomes friends with Safer and his little sister, Candy. I liked Georges. He was smart and I think, closer to the end, at least, that he became more confident. I was so happy when he stood up to Safer because that was a defining moment for his character. Development wise, I would have liked a teeny bit more, but the author, from what I remember, likes to leave some room for the reader to make their own assumptions. Safer was a bit strange. And, while, I liked him enough in the beginning, what he did to Georges was mean. Sure, I still liked him afterwards, but I wish he took more responsibility for his actions. Candy was adorable, and she is one of those characters that you are unlikely to forget :) I loved her cheery personality! Rebecca Stead provided plenty of subtle clues throughout the novel for the reader to guess what would happen in the end. I think {if I had the time} I would read this again, just because I would have a better understanding of what happened. Which leads me to my next point… The story was kind of slow. The ending was beautifully written, and the book holds a lot of meaningful messages, but most kids are not going to finish the book. Which makes me sad :( Anyhoo, good book, but I think adults and some kids will get more out of the book than others.

Pros: Strong character development and good ending.

Cons: Slow moving plot with little action.

Heads Up: Bullies

Overall: I give it 4ish stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Have a wonderful night!
Bella :)

Psst. Please excuse any typos. Writing this after a few hours of homework with an iPad is bound to include a few mistakes ;)

One thought on “Liar and Spy: A Book Review

Say Hello!

