Wicked Jealous: A Book Review

Hello!

Wicked Jealous: A Love Story

Wicked Jealous by Robin Palmer

Summary: A fresh and funny twist on Snow White from the author of Cindy Ella and Geek Charming! Simone never saw herself as the “cute girl”–she was always the chunky smartmouth. But after a year of avoiding her wicked almost-stepmonster through Zumba class, Simone’s now sporting a whole new retro style. And people keep acting oddly. One thing: her stepmonster seems to be trying to accidentally kill her, or at least fatten her back up. And so when Simone’s brother offers to let her move in with him and his six roommates for the summer, Simone jumps at the chance for some normalcy. Only living with seven very different college boys isn’t exactly going to help her land her very own happily ever after . . .

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: {Spoiler Alert!} If you’ve read Robin Palmer, then you know she has a talent for putting a modern twist on classic fairytales. Her most recent book tackles Snow White, and she does an AHmazing job! Our main character, Simone, started off hiding behind her long black hair and her only friends were the unique Nicola and the thrift store owner, Brad. Palmer also added a little nod to the original fairytale- Simone is allergic to apples :) I think Simone grew the most as a character. She was lonely and shy, but as her “transformation” happened, she finally found out who she really was. I loved her personality, and I think the relationships she had with everyone were fully fleshed out. Her potential stepmom was SO so so unlikable! I really could not stand her, and I definitely think that I could not tolerate her if she was a real person. However, the author provided so much information for her character that Hilary was fully developed, making for a very interesting read. What type of person leaves their possible stepdaughter there to die?! I adored Max, and I loved how he played the overprotective big brother. His relationship with Simone was superb, and you could really tell that they cared for one another. Their dad was a bit distant, and I wish he was more present in both the story and his kid’s lives. The college kids were hilarious, and their nicknames were a subtle way to show what dwarf they would be. I think my favorites were Noob and Blush :) Noob, because he’s kind of clueless, and Blush, because he and Simone are SO darn cute together! The ending wrapped up the story, and it was the perfect way to finish such a great read. Although this is not deep reading, it’s great for a quickie when you need to laugh.

Pros: Fleshed out characters.

Cons: I don’t think this was necessarily wrong, but the writing wasn’t outstanding. Something tells me though that was not the intention.

Heads Up: Romance

Overall: I give it 4 1/2 stars {**** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

Want to check out Robin Palmer’s other books? Click here.

Have a terrific night!

Bella :)

One thought on “Wicked Jealous: A Book Review

  1. […] Wicked Jealous by Robin Palmer | Robin Palmer is another author I can consistently count on to always provide fun and fluffy reads. At the end of any her novels, I can’t help but smile; I’m always rooting for the character’s “happy ending.” Wicked Jealous is my personal fave, but any of them are worth taking a look at. […]

    Like

Say Hello!

