Two Mini Book Reviews {The Final Battle // Summer of the Gypsy Moths}

Hello!

Remember way back when I did two mini book reviews? With summer wrapping up, I have been reading plenty of {taking a cue from Willa, from The Wedding Planner’s Daughter} Skinny Punch books! :) And so, because they are on the shorter side, I thought another round of mini reviews was in order. Today we’re talking the final installment in the Sisters Eight series and the latest release from Clementine author, Sara Pennypacker.

The Sisters Eight Book 9: The Final Battle . . . for Now

The Final Battle… For Now by Lauren Baratz-Logsted

Summary: It’s the final book! Each of the Eights has received her power and gift and they even know where Daddy is—inside a snowglobe-shaped Christmas tree ornament. Now all they have to do is get inside the ornament and rescue Daddy. Hopefully, Mommy’s in there with him. For heaven’s sake, how are they supposed to shrink all of them (plus the cats!) down to a size small enough to fit in the globe and then actually get inside it? Of course, through magic or just shear will power—who really knows which—the girls have done quite a few things that, to be honest, they really shouldn’t have been able to do. But this seems like asking too much even for these intelligent and talented girls. But the Eights are also a very determined group. Now that they know where Daddy is, they will—and they do—find a way to him. But they never would have guessed what else awaits them inside the snowglobe.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: I have always loved the Sisters Eight books, and each one left me dying to know what happened next! Finally, after I have grown from the age group the series is intended for, Lauren Baratz-Logsted has released the last book. My little sister is a fan too, so I felt that justified my purchase of the book on my Kindle :) The plot and characters are just as silly and outrageous as the other books. The story wrapped up all the loose ends, yet the author could still write another book if she wanted too. {expect a brand new character to appear at the end!} I adore the sisters, and their different personalities are hilarious to read about. I did run into the problem where each character could have used a little more developing, but I had to remember that one, it was a series, thus the characters develop as they go along and two, there are EIGHT sisters to start with! I know it’s not right to pick favorites, but I really like Durinda, Georgia, and Zinnia. Durinda rocks in the kitchen, so I could see we would become fast friends. I admire Georgia’s spunk, and, although she may not be everyone’s favorite, I think she really grew in the last book. Finally, how could you not love Zinnia? :) All in all, the author did a terrific job wrapping up the series. It may be a bit on the lighter side, but I’m sure little girls will devour the book!

Pros: Solid plot and “round” characters.

Cons: I don’t think that this will be up for any awards, but it wasn’t bad.

Heads Up: None!

Overall: I give it 3 1/2 stars {*** 1/2} and I recommend it for ages 7 and up.

Check out the website here.

Summer of the Gypsy Moths

Summer of the Gypsy Moths by Sara Pennypacker

Summery: Stella loves living with Great-aunt Louise in her big old house near the water on Cape Cod for many reasons, but mostly because Louise likes routine as much as she does, something Stella appreciates since her mom is, well, kind of unreliable. So while Mom “finds herself,” Stella fantasizes that someday she’ll come back to the Cape and settle down. The only obstacle to her plan? Angel, the foster kid Louise has taken in. Angel couldn’t be less like her name—she’s tough and prickly, and the girls hardly speak to each other. But when tragedy unexpectedly strikes, Stella and Angel are forced to rely on each other to survive, and they learn that they are stronger together than they could have imagined. And over the course of the summer they discover the one thing they do have in common: dreams of finally belonging to a real family.

{kindly taken from Amazon}

My Thoughts: This book was flat-out amazing. I have been eyeing this at bookstores for a while, mainly because the story sounded like a good read. I didn’t even realize that this was by Sara Pennybacker, whose books I adored in elementary school. To start, we have a well-written plot. There were a few bumps here and there, but overall, the storyline was a winner. The whole let’s keep my great-aunt’s death a secret and hide her in the garden was unique, if not a bit creepy :) Stella had everything a main character needs: a strong personality, funny quirks, and a “voice” that can carry the story. She wasn’t my favorite character in the whole world, but she is definitely on the list of memorable narrators. Angel was a bit tougher to know. She appeared to not let anyone to really know her, which I can only assume is from the fact that she has been in and out of so many foster homes. Anyhoo, at the very end, you could tell that she was finally happy. My favorite character wasn’t one of the girls at all, however, it was George, the cottage caretaker. Seriously, I loved that guy. Overall, this was a winner, and I wouldn’t be surprised to see it get mentioned more often in the next few months.

Pros: Strong plot and fleshed-out characters.

Cons: None!

Heads Up: There’s a death, but that’s about it.

Overall: I give it 5 stars{*****} and I recommend it for ages 9 and up.

Visit the author’s website here.

Have a terrific night!

B :)

One thought on “Two Mini Book Reviews {The Final Battle // Summer of the Gypsy Moths}

Say Hello!

