Sean Griswold’s Head: A Book Review

Hi!

Sean Griswold's Head

Sean Griswold’s Head by Lindsey Leavitt

Summary: So, everyone, I need your opinion. What do you like better: my own summaries or the summaries found on Amazon/Goodreads? This would help out a lot! Anyhoo, I’m going to stick with the standard one today.

According to her guidance counselor, fifteen-year-old Payton Gritas needs a focus object-an item to concentrate her emotions on. It’s supposed to be something inanimate, but Payton decides to use the thing she stares at during class: Sean Griswold’s head. They’ve been linked since third grade (Griswold-Gritas-it’s an alphabetical order thing), but she’s never really known him. The focus object is intended to help Payton deal with her father’s newly diagnosed multiple sclerosis. And it’s working. With the help of her boy-crazy best friend Jac, Payton starts stalking-er, focusing on-Sean Griswold . . . all of him! He’s cute, he shares her Seinfeld obsession (nobody else gets it!) and he may have a secret or two of his own. In this sweet story of first love, Lindsey Leavitt seamlessly balances heartfelt family moments, spot-on sarcastic humor, and a budding young romance. {via here.}

My Thoughts: Oh.My.Gosh. I adored Sean Griswold’s Head! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Lindsey Leavitt’s books, and I even got my little sister hooked on the Princess for Hire series :) This one I think is for a *slightly* older crowd than the princess books, but it is just as well-written. It tells the story of Payton, who has just learned that her dad is dealing with MS {multiple sclerosis}, months after the rest of her family knew. Kind of a tough situation to be in. After that, it seems that her world starts to crumble. She quits the basketball team, doesn’t talk to her parents, and has to see the school counselor. The school counselor suggests that she has a focus object, something to take her mind off her dad. Payton chooses the boy who has always set in front of her – Sean Griwold. Payton had a good head on her shoulders, and I think the announcement of her dad’s disease threw her out of her routine, if that makes any sense? Anyhoo, she was likable, without being too “perfect.” She had her flaws, and sometimes I wanted her to go away, but as the main character, her narrations and actions led the story well. She was also one of those characters that make me not want to read ahead because of how bad I felt for them. Seriously, there were plenty of embarrassing moments that happened through the course of the story :) She and Sean were SO cute as a couple! I could totally see them as a “real” couple in high school; the relationship was in no way fake. I <3 how easy-going Sean was. He was a good match for Payton’s sometimes uptight personality. I was so happy at the end because you could tell just how COOL he was. I know that no one is perfect, but, gosh, he was pretty darn close. I thought the Payton’s dad did pretty good with giving Payton space {you can’t drop a bomb like that, and just expect everything to be normal again.} but he did try a little too hard to start-up conversations.  Her mom was pretty good, as well, but again, I thought she tried to hard to “fix” Payton. Of course, that has nothing to do with their character development {which, for secondary characters, was superb!} just what I thought of them as people :) Jac was such a good friend, and über supportive of Payton. The chapters in which they were fighting were some of the hardest to read because they were such good friends. Right away, their friendship reminded me of Penny and Tracy from The Lonely Hearts ClubIf you can’t tell, Jac was one of my favorite characters :) Finally, I thought the biking aspect was a refreshing change. I don’t normally see cycling as a sport in YA books, so the fact that the storyline revolves around it was nice. I do think this might be worth getting a copy of my own…

Pros: Unique plot and developed characters.

Cons: None!

Heads Up: Nothing, truly. The romance part was all very PG for me, yet I don’t think this is for anyone around 10 or 11.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 13 and up.

I can’t wait to read Going Vintage, the author’s next novel! It comes out in March 2013.

Going Vintage

Bella :)

One thought on “Sean Griswold’s Head: A Book Review

Say Hello!

