Brave

Hello!

Brave by Andrew Tucker

{via}

Brave {2012}

Stars:

  • Kelly MacDonald
  • Billy Connolly
  • Emma Thompson
  • Julie Walters

Summary: Princess Merida {MacDonald} would much rather be shooting arrows in the forest than sewing in her room, but it’s not up to her. Her mother, the queen {Thompson}, insists that Merida practices the skills she will need to rule a kingdom, such as public speaking, dancing, and finding someone to marry! Three potential suitors have agreed to strut their stuff to the princess, so that she may choose her favorite to marry. The only problem? Merida absolutely, does NOT want to marry anyone, especially the princes she has to choose from. The three boys are either obnoxious, impossible to understand, or weak. And so, when Merida meets a witch in the forest, the princess decides that she might as well ask for something that will change her fate. She just wasn’t expecting to change her mother into a bear…

My Thoughts: Before I talk about Brave, let me just say that it had a TON of good previews. I even made a list of them all! Hehe :)

  • The Hobbit
  • Despicable Me 2
  • Monsters University
  • Wreck it Ralph
  • Hotel Transylvania

Can.Not.Wait. to see them all. That LaLuna short was adorable too!

Anyhoo, Brave was too cute. Seriously. I know many people felt that after Cars 2, Pixar was slowly getting worse, but I think Brave was up to their standards. Merida had spunk and an adventurous spirit, which I LOVE seeing in Disney’s princesses. She wasn’t afraid to speak her mind, a skill that is valuable to little girls, a good chunk of the target audience. I do think that she was pretty stupid accepting the witch’s potion, but its a movie, so I’m not that concerned about it. I enjoyed watching her relationship with her mother grow as they spent more time with each other, but it made me a bit sad that her mom had to turn into a bear before Merida realized just how much she needed her. Not only did the relationship grow, I thought Merida matured a bit herself. The speech she gave to the princes was incredible, and she seemed to have more confidence, even though she already had a self-assured manner in the beginning. And, did I mention how adorable Merida was as a little girl?! Aww :) I think the only “flaw” with Merida was her unruly hair. I found myself focusing on the hair more than her at times, so it was awfully distracting. I understand what Pixar was going for, I just think that they could have improved on it. The queen was a tad strict, but you could tell that she really cared about her kids. {although maybe she was more concerned about her reputation? don’t really know} I do have to give credit to her for actually being active in her kid’s lives. I feel that more and more, in books and movies, that the parental figures are just… absent. What’s wrong with a mom and dad? My favorite scene with the queen was in the forest, when she tried to make breakfast as a bear. It broke my heart to see that she tried SO hard, yet she messed up. Oh, silly queen :) Angus, Merida’s father, was hilarious, and the fact that he was completely oblivious to what was going on was so funny. Her little brothers were the cutest things on the planet. EVER. I do wish that the trailers gave us a better idea of what was going to happen because I went in not knowing anything. That, and Merida’s hair are my only “real” complaints. Can it compare to Up or Toy Story 3? No, but was it a delight to see? Yes!

Pros: The story was interesting, and it was well-thought out.

Cons: Like I said above, I wish the audience was given some clue to what was going to happen before the movie started. If this wasn’t Pixar, I have to question whether so many people would go see it. And the hair. Only two minor problems!

Heads Up: None!

Overall: I give it 4 stars {****} and I recommend it for ages 7 and up.

I felt weird going to see this. I must be the only teen left who actually enjoys seeing Disney and Pixar movies :) *sigh*

I do apologize for my mini break! I just started this AHmazing camp, but I’m having trouble finding the time to post. Totally worth it though!

Bella :)

3 thoughts on “Brave

Say Hello!

