Cold Cereal: A Book Review

Hello!

Cold Cereal (The Cold Cereal Saga)

Cold Cereal by Adam Rex

Summary: Scottish “Scott” Play Doe has always been a little different. He sometimes hallucinates things that no one else can see. Mermaids. Unicorns. A man with a rabbit head. Wait? A man with a rabbit head?! Thankfully, all Scott has to do is take one of handy-dandy pills, and the images and the migraines all go away. One day, on a field trip, one of Scott’s hallucinations becomes strangely real. Scott meets Mick, an actual leprechaun who is trying to steal from Scott’s backpack and run, from of all things, the Goodco Cereal Company, where everyone and their brother works. As Scott spends more time with Mick, they realize just how evil the company is. With the help of their genius friends, Erno and Emily, Scott and Mick are determined to stop Goodco’s sinister plans and take down the cereal company once and for all.

My Thoughts: *Spoilers Below! :) It’s no secret that I LOVE Adam Rex, so of course I adored Cold Cereal! I literally squealed with joy when I found it at my local library, and I couldn’t wait to dive in. The story starts off by introducing us to Scott, my second male main character of the week! I found Scott to be smart {but nowhere near as intelligent as Erno and Emily} but at points I felt as if Adam Rex downgraded him a little. Like Scott wasn’t reaching his full potential. Who knows, it could have just been the situation {meeting a leprechaun would be kind of creepy} but I wanted MORE from him, especially as a main character. Nevertheless, he was enjoyable to read about, but I must admit, that I looooved Erno and Emily so much more. Seriously, up there on my “Favorite Character List.” Emily was a cutie-pie, and I thought she was well-developed. Erno was the bomb, and he was well-developed as well :) Although they weren’t *real* siblings, the bond between the two was so evident, and the scenes with the just the two of them were some of the most memorable. Umm, and I had NO idea Emily was the oldest!? I was surprised to see that because Erno was the protective big brother type. Mick was cool, but he was rather annoying. His accent was a tad distracting from the action, but I did like how he came to feel responsible for Scott. Harvey, on the other hand {he was the rabbit-man} was the one character I could not stand. I couldn’t really decipher his speech, and he kind of whined/complained a lot. Biggs, Erno and Emily’s nanny, was awesome, and I loved that you didn’t know too much about his past. He was developed, yes, but the fact that you knew little about his personal life added a mysterious element to his character. One of he happiest scenes in the book was when he shouted “MY BABIES!” and hugged Erno and Emily hard. SO sweet! Even an eight-foot tall man who looks rather frightening and is supposedly Bigfoot has a heart :) The plot was a bit over the top, but I’ll let it slide because Adam Rex can really get away with anything. Who else would think to combine a sinister cereal company, King Arthur, magical creatures, Shakespeare, a super genius, and a leprechaun all in one story? Not me ;) Some may say that there was too much going on to understand the story, but I would have to disagree. I think that the story actually flowed quite nicely, and every aspect fit right in. And, then I read the reviews… {I always read a few just to see what people had to say before I review the book myself.} According to those, there were many elements to books that were in reference to things that the intended audience might not know about. I think eight year olds know who Harvey was referencing to {the Trix Rabbit} and clearly Mick is like the leprechaun from Lucky Charms, but they might miss other facts. For example, Scott’s dad is a performer who likes to dress in flamboyant outfits, and his stage name is Reggie Dwight, which is also the birth name given to Elton John. Another example is that the Freemen might be a reference to the Freemasons. Both of these things were not information I knew before, so I thank that reviewer for making me want to look them up :) Considering that I didn’t know all that while reading the book, yet I still understood it and enjoyed it, I don’t think it matters *too* much. That’s just my two cents. I think that’s enough rambling for the night, yes?

Pros: Developed characters and entertaining plot!

Cons: I’m going too have to go with nothing.

Heads Up: Let’s see, there’s a lot of magic/violence involved, and the story can get kind of creepy and scary, depending on the reader.

Overall: I give it 5 stars {*****} and I recommend it for ages 11 and up. {I don’t really agree with that whole 8-12 thing.}

Apparently this is the first book in a trilogy! Yay! :) That mean more awesomeness from Rex is on the way.

Have a lovely night!
B :)

4 thoughts on “Cold Cereal: A Book Review

Say Hello!

