The Exceptionals: A Book Review

Hello!

The Exceptionals

The Exceptionals by Erin Cashman

Summary: Claire is constantly surrounded by exceptional people. Whether it’s the ability to move objects by mind, to predict the future, or to talk to ghosts, her entire family and the students at Cambial, the nearby school, {where, surprise, surprise, her family all boards/works at.} all have a “special.” These specials make the exceptionals different from the common folk. The only thing? Claire is pretty ordinary. She attends the local high school and hides her embarrassing special from everyone. Claire can communicate with animals, but her family never showed any interest in her special, and actually seemed ashamed of it. But, when her mother forces her to transfer to Cambial, Claire comes to realize that maybe her power isn’t something to be embarrassed of. With an evil man trying to take over, Claire might be the only one who can stop him…

My Thoughts: *Spoilers below! LOVED this one! It was a terrific debut novel, and guessing from the ending, I’m hoping that there will be a sequel. Reeeeeaaaaallllly hoping :) Anyhoo, what I loved the most was that although this was a fantasy/science-fiction {?} there was no vampires, angels, or werewolves. The kids were different, yes, but they didn’t have to be a “creature” to be unique. Claire was lovely! She was quite refreshing from the past few books I’ve read because she actually held her own as main character. I loved her connection with both hawks, and she had a wonderful relationship with her siblings. She was kind of lovestruck, but I think that obsession with Dylan {we’ll get to him later} was needed for the storyline. I do wish though that she was in love with Henry. He was awfully nice :) Dylan worked with that evil man, named Timothy Wilder. He was on Wilder’s side at first, but his love for Claire influenced him to go to the good side. I still don’t trust him fully, but since Claire likes him… His actions near the end were quite noble, but I’m still taking in the fact that he was going to kidnap her! I liked Henry more, just saying. Billy, Claire’s older brother, was so cool, and real older brothers should take hint from him. Charlotte was a tad annoying, but I loved how clueless she could be sometimes! Hehe. Winny was a sweetie, and could quite possibly make my favorite characters list. She was just so fun! Ally was awesome, and a terrific friend to Claire. I hope that she does something with her healing powers, because, come on, how cool is that!? And, although she was barely there, I loved Maggie. Her accent was too cool :) I think what could have made this even better was if the pace of the story was a bit faster. I read for a good amount of time, yet I only read around twenty to thirty pages. I think it moved too slow. On the plus side, Erin Cashman write SUPERB dialogue. With so much information and the amount of characters in a certain time, the dialogue was crucial for understanding. Thankfully, it was clear and easy to follow. I can wait to see what else Erin Cashman might have in store!

Pros: Developed characters, though-out plot, and terrific dialogue.

Cons: The story moved slowly.

Heads Up: Ehh, nothing, really…

Overall: I was all ready to give this 5 stars, but because of the pacing, it deserves 4 1/2 stars. {**** 1/2} I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Bella :)

2 thoughts on “The Exceptionals: A Book Review

  1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read and review The Exceptionals, Bella! I am thrilled that you enjoyed it so much. Winny was one of my favorite characters too. (And Tabby — I just loved writing scenes with that cat!) Billy was the older brother I always wished I had!

    Like

Say Hello!

