Lunch-Box Dream: A Book Review

Hello!

Lunch-Box Dream

Lunch-Box Dream by Tony Abbott

Summary: Bobby and his family are traveling on a road trip so that they can bring their grandmother home to Florida. Along the way, they wanted to stop at many Civil War battlefields, almost 100 years after the actual war. However happy Bobby’s mother wants the trip to be, anyone could tell that tension was high in the car. Bobby and his older brother, Ricky, are constantly fighting, and their mother is always stressed about her strained relationship with her husband. After an accident, the trip is cut short, and Bobby and his family return home. Due to the train strikes, they will have to travel home by bus. {they left the car with Grandma in Florida.} At the station, Bobby and everyone else witness an incident no one will forget…

Nine-year old Jacob lives with his older sister and her husband, but they treat him like their own. For a period of time, Jacob  is sent to live with other family members in a small country town. Even at his age, Jacob realizes that there are rules for home and town and rules for whites and blacks. After just a few days of arriving at his relative’s house, Jacob goes missing. Fearing the worst, that he was another victim of a hate crime, Jacob’s family goes searching for him. When they are forbidden to sit on the bus, however, everything goes downhill…

My Thoughts: This was a new book that just came in at my local library, so I grabbed it because it looked pretty short. I liked the sound of the story, and I have read and enjoyed books by Tony Abbot in the past. This wasn’t downright bad, but I won’t say I LOVED it, you know? The story was told in multiple points of view, with the bulk of the story told by Bobby. Thankfully, the author provided a handy-dandy list of all the characters in the front :) I would have been very confused otherwise. Bobby was very naive, but I think he learned from the road trip. He saw so many incidents between black and whites along the way, and he visited a few battle sites, so between all that, I think he realized the effect that everyone had on society. You could really see his growth at the bus station chapter. I could tell he wanted to do something, but he didn’t want to make things worse. I hated how bad of a relationship he had with his brother. THey could be a little more civil to each other, right?! Ricky wasn’t much of a help either, and I think he was a teeny bit too smug. He acted like a better person, which I didn’t think was fair to Bobby. Their mom was . . . interesting. I think she was either yelling or crying in every chapter. I would have liked to know what happened to the family because that part of the story was never really closed up. To be honest, I preferred reading from everyone but Bobby’s point of view. They were just much more entertaining to read! What bugged me about the points of view was that they changed tenses. Bobby’s chapters were told in the third person, but others were told in the first person. That got on my nerves. I felt that there was no high point of action. It moved really slowly, and it was kind of boring. So, I wasn’t really impressed, but it wasn’t a book that is one star criteria. That’s something, right? :)

Pros: Most of the characters were developed and I liked parts of the story.

Cons: It moved slowly, and it was boring to read.

Heads Up: There’s an abusive father.

Overall: I tie it 2 1/2 {**1/2} stars and I recommend it for ages 11 and up.

Bella :)

4 thoughts on “Lunch-Box Dream: A Book Review

  1. I love the review but i hated the book because it was just so confusing with all the different narrators so i would rate it a 1/2 but you had a great summery and a great review.

    Like

Say Hello!

